CFO Jimmy's Patronis' Seal

About the Agency

Recommended by the Constitutional Revision Commission, and passed into law by voters in 1998, the Florida Legislature carried out an amendment to the state's constitution by merging the Department of Insurance, Treasury, State Fire Marshal and the Department of Banking and Finance into the Department of Financial Services effective January 2003.

The Department is made up of 13 divisions, several specialized offices and 2,000 employees providing the most efficient and effective help for you. Get detailed information and links to each Divisions' web page below.

Financial Services Commission

A body consisting of Florida's governor and Cabinet, the Commission appoints two officials to handle the regulation of banking, securities and insurance.