CFO Jimmy's Patronis' Seal

Fire Instructor II

(Certificate of Competency)


(Revision December 20, 2020)

Overview: There are three levels of Instructor Certification

To qualify for certification as a Fire Instructor II, the applicant shall:

  • Have a minimum of six-years’ experience as a regular member of an organized fire department.
  • FCDICE course history must document the successful completion of the Fire Service Course Delivery class (not less than 45 hours duration) or submit an Approved Course Equivalency Request for this course.
  • FCDICE course history must document the successful completion of the Fire Service Course Design class (not less than 45 hours duration) or submit an Approved Course Equivalency Request for this course.
  • Documentation of having earned an Associate Degree or higher.
  • Physical ability to perform the tasks associated with the training.
  • Submit the Fire Instructor I Application for Certification on FCDICE online or by mail (Form DFS-K4-1452)
  • Pay the current application fee
  • Successfully complete the Instructor II State Written Examination with a score of 70%or greater.

Fire Instructor I, II , and III Overview

Fire Service Instructors Certification Requirements and Renewal


  • A Fire Service Instructor must be affiliated with at least one Training Provider and becertified by the Bureau to any course which leads to any certification by the Bureauor is awarded continuing education units (CEUs).
  • Prior to the first time a Fire Service Instructor teaches an approved course for aTraining Provider, the certified Fire Service Instructor or Training Provider mustsubmit an Instructor Approval Request to the Bureau (via FCDICE) for thereview/approval of the certified Fire Service Instructor to teach the approved course.


(Effective July 1, 2013, certification courses must appear on student's Course History at or submit for course equivalency)

Additional Information for certification:

Florida Statutes (FS)/Florida Administrative Code (FAC)

Renewal Required


Renewal Requirements


  1. Fire Service Instructor Certification must be renewed every 4 years.
  2. Should the applicant fail to meet the prerequisite training requirements specified below for renewal, the applicant must qualify for and successfully pass the required state examination for the instructor certification requested.
  3. The Bureau shall notify the certified Fire Service Instructor that the applicant’s certification is due for renewal approximately 90 days prior to the expiration of the Fire Service Instructor Certification.
  4. The certified Fire Service Instructor shall submit the renewal application on FCDICE online or mail FormDFS-K4-1463 (rev. 06/12), which is incorporated by reference in Rule 69A37.039, F.A.C., and can be obtained where indicated in Rule 69A-37.039, F.A.C., to the Bureau specifying whether the renewal is to be based on completion of a course or attendance at workshops or seminars.
    • a. Course – Have successfully completed approved course(s) of instruction in a curriculum related to instructor improvement.
      • i. This course shall be 40 class hours in duration or the equivalent in Continuing Education Units (CEU’s).
      • ii. At least 4 of the 40 hours must consist of education or training related to Understanding the contents of Rules Chapter 69A-37 or69A-39, F.A.C., and FCDICE.
      • iii. Documentation verifying the successful completion of the course, such as a certificate or college transcript, shall be included with the renewal application.
    • b. Workshops or Seminars – In the absence of completion of an approved course, the certification renewal shall be based upon attendance at a workshop or seminar related to the subject of certification which shall be a cumulative total of not less than 40 contact hours in duration.
  5. Any person whose certification is not renewed cannot function as an instructor as defined herein.
  6. Any person whose certification is expired shall obtain the required continuing education credits and successfully retake the examination before the certification will be re-issued.

Probation and Revocation of Fire Service Instructor Certification information is found at 69A-39, F.A.C.


Not Required

Task Book


Test Required


For testing information, review the PearsonVue Candidate Handbook and PearsonVue Exam Content Outline
Application Fee $30.00

(Renewal Fee $15.00)

Apply for Examination Log in to FCDICE Student Portal

Applicable towards the following National Accreditation(s):



International Accreditation for Fire Service OrganizationsLINK TO PRO-BOARD LISTClick Here

About Pro-Board Accreditation

Logo of IFSAC accreditation
Link to IFSAC Certifying agencies
Click Here
Information on how to Print State Certifications, and Pro-Board Applications Click Here