main menu page title feature menus content footer
My Florida C F O

CFO's Initiatives

Stay Connected

Follow the
Department of
Financial Services

Sign up for the CFO's
weekly newsletter!

Press Release

News   RSS RSS   Press Office   Archive

CFO and State Fire Marshal Jimmy Patronis Honors Coral Springs Parkland Fire Chief and Other Recipients for the 2018 Fire Service Awards on Firefighter Appreciation Day


press photo

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Contact: Jon Moore, 850.413.2842,
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Today, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and State Fire Marshal Jimmy Patronis recognized 13 award winners of the 2018 Fire Service Awards, including Coral Springs Parkland Fire Chief Frank Babinec as Fire Chief of the Year, at a meeting of the Florida Governor and Cabinet.

Prior to the meeting, CFO Patronis was joined by Governor Rick Scott, Attorney General Pam Bondi, Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam and members of Florida's fire service community during the annual Ringing of the Bell ceremony; a ceremonial marking of Florida's fallen firefighters. This year, James F. Dorminy with the Reedy Creek Fire Department and Joseph T. DeMarinis with the Clermont Fire Department were honored as Florida’s two line of duty deaths in 2017.

“Florida’s fire service professionals are committed to keeping our communities safe from an ever-evolving environment of risk and danger. That risk includes tragedies they experience on a daily basis,” said CFO Jimmy Patronis. “Just two days ago, the legislature passed a measure that would increase access to mental health benefits for first responders suffering from PTSD.
Today, Governor Rick Scott announced his intent to sign this good bill. Florida’s brave first responders deserve our support at every step of the way. The recipients of this year’s fire service awards -represent some of the strongest, most honorable fire service communities in the country. It was an honor to highlight their outstanding achievements.”
Governor Rick Scott today issued a proclamation declaring, Wednesday, March 7, 2018 as Firefighter Appreciation Day across the state.
Governor Scott said, “Florida is home to the world’s best first responders, and I’m proud to recognize the dedication of our state’s firefighters who serve our communities. We also pause today to honor every firefighter who has given their life to protect others.”
CFO Patronis honored the following Fire Service Awards recipients:
Daniel Chavez – Fire Inspector of the Year
Genevieve Latham – Fire and Life Safety Education of the Year
Erick Thiemann – Fire Service Instructor of the Year
Lee Mayfield – Chad Reed Emergency Preparedness Manager
Jeff Lucas – Fire Marshal of the Year
Jeff Batz – Fire Investigator of the Year
Coral Springs Regional Institute of Public Safety – Fire Training Center of the Year
Heather Mazurkiewicz – Volunteer Firefighter of the Year
John DeWolfe – Forestry Firefighter of the Year
Eloy Ricardo – Professional Firefighter of the Year
Carlos Tavarez and Joshua Granada - Career Firefighters of the Year
Frank Babinec – Fire Chief of the Year
The Fire Service Awards are coordinated annually by the State Fire Marshal's Office and sponsored by the following fire-service related organizations: the Fire Training Director’s Association, the Florida State Firefighters Association, the Florida Fire Chiefs’ Association, the Florida Fire Marshals and Inspectors Association, the Florida Professional Firefighters Association, the Emergency Preparedness Association and the Florida Forest Service.

About CFO Jimmy Patronis
Chief Financial Officer and State Fire Marshal Jimmy Patronis is a native Floridian and a member of Florida’s Cabinet, who oversees the Department of Financial Services. CFO Patronis works each day to fight insurance fraud, support Florida’s firefighters, and ensure the state’s finances are stable to support economic growth in the state. Follow the activities of the Department on Facebook (FLDFS) and Twitter (@FLDFS).