main menu page title feature menus content footer
My Florida C F O

CFO's Initiatives

Stay Connected

Follow the
Department of
Financial Services

Sign up for the CFO's
weekly newsletter!

Press Release

News   RSS RSS   Press Office   Archive

CFO and State Fire Marshal Jeff Atwater Announces William Johnson as Chad Reed Emergency Manager of the Year


press photo













Contact: Ashley Carr
(850) 413-2842

PALM BEACH COUNTY, Fla. — CFO and State Fire Marshal Jeff Atwater honored the winners of the Florida Fire Service Awards during a reception hosted yesterday evening at the Florida Capitol. Among the winners was Palm Beach County’s Division of Emergency Management Director William Johnson, who was announced as the winner of the Chad Reed Emergency Manager of the Year Award. The annual awards ceremony is held to reward and honor those in the fire service community who have shown excellence in their profession.

Director Johnson has nearly 30 years of experience in emergency management. His program is built on leadership, teamwork and a commitment to the emergency management discipline. Each year, he has spearheaded the Governor’s Hurricane Conference, which is the largest of its kind in the nation. Through this conference, Director Johnson launched the first ever student emergency management workshop, showing his support of higher education and equipping tomorrow’s leaders with the tools necessary to lead in the face of emergencies.

The Florida Emergency Preparedness Association, which has acquired nearly 60 years of dedicated service to Florida, nominated Director William Johnson for the Chad Reed Emergency Manager of the Year Award.

# # #

Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater, a statewide elected official, oversees the Department of Financial Services. CFO Atwater’s priorities include fighting financial fraud, abuse and waste in government, reducing government spending and regulatory burdens that chase away businesses, and providing transparency and accountability in spending. Follow the activities of the Department on Facebook (FLDFS) and Twitter (@FLDFS).