main menu page title feature menus content footer
My Florida C F O

CFO's Initiatives

Stay Connected

Follow the
Department of
Financial Services

Sign up for the CFO's
weekly newsletter!

Press Release

News   RSS RSS   Press Office   Archive

CFO Jeff Atwater Honors Recipients of the 2014 Fire Service Awards


Contact: Ashley Carr
(850) 413 – 2842
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Chief Financial Officer and State Fire Marshal Jeff Atwater recognized the winners of the 2014 Fire Service Awards during a reception hosted yesterday evening at the Florida Capitol. Additionally, a resolution signed by the Florida Cabinet was presented to honor the winners’ outstanding accomplishments to the fire service industry. In total, 10 awards were presented to men and women from across the state, along with an award to the training center of the year.

“Not only do these men and women risk their lives each day to protect the health and safety of those around them, they have risen as leaders in their fields and I am eternally grateful for their service,” said CFO Atwater. “I look forward to even more great things from them, and I hope their dedication inspires others to reach a little higher.”

 CFO Atwater presented the following Fire Service Awards:

• Fire Chief of the Year Award: James White, Winter Park Fire Rescue

• Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year: David Freda, Hernando Beach Volunteer Fire Department

• Forestry Firefighter of the Year Award: Travis McGowen, Florida Forest Service Orlando District

• Fire Marshal of the Year Award: Shawn Hanson, East Naples & Golden Gate Fire Districts

• Fire Inspector of the Year Award: Thomas Eadie, Florida State Fire Marshal’s Jacksonville Field Office
• Professional Firefighter of the Year Award: Jason Griggs, Dunedin Fire Rescue

• Fire Instructor of the Year Award: Charles Frank, Northwest Florida Volunteer Firefighter Weekend Council

• Fire Investigator of the Year Award: John Jockin, Orlando Fire Department

• Volunteer Firefighter of the Year Award: Robin Russell, Plantation Fire Department

• Chad Reed Emergency Manager of the Year: Curt Summerhoff, Miami-Dade Emergency Management

• Training Center of the Year: St. Petersburg College, Fire & Public Safety Training Center

The Fire Service Awards are coordinated annually by the State Fire Marshal's Office and sponsored by the following fire-service related organizations: the Fire Training Director’s Association, the Florida State Firefighters Association, the Florida Fire Chiefs’ Association, the Florida Fire Marshals and Inspectors Association, the Florida Professional Firefighters Association, the Emergency Preparedness Association and the Florida Forest Service.