main menu page title feature menus content footer
My Florida C F O

CFO's Initiatives

Stay Connected

Follow the
Department of
Financial Services

Sign up for the CFO's
weekly newsletter!

Press Release

News   RSS RSS   Press Office   Archive

CFO Jeff Atwater Announces State Loss Prevention Award Winners


Contact: Alexis Lambert 
(850) 413-2842

TALLAHASSEE—Florida Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater today announced the state agency, university and individual winners of the 2011 Loss Prevention Awards.  The awards were presented at a ceremony held today in Tallahassee for excellence in loss prevention on behalf of the Interagency Advisory Council (IAC) on Loss Prevention, made up of 48 state agencies and universities, and the Department of Financial Services’ (DFS) Division of Risk Management.

“Along with the Interagency Advisory Council, I am honored to recognize state agencies and universities that have gone the extra mile to reduce workers’ comp and other preventable losses,” CFO Jeff Atwater said.  “Their loss reductions mean that the tax dollars hardworking Floridians send to their government go further in serving our fellow Floridians.”

The Loss Prevention Awards are based on the performance of the agencies and universities in respect to claims cost and frequency. In order to receive an award, agencies had to rank at the top in claims frequency reduction or claims cost reduction in separate categories for small, medium and large agencies. Individual safety coordinators and alternate safety coordinators were recognized based upon their agency performances and their involvement with interagency and statewide risk management activities. One agency was selected for the “Award of Excellence” based on agency performance and contributions to statewide risk management. Two agencies were selected for sustained performance for consistent reductions in cost and frequency.

• Award of Excellence
o Department of Environmental Protection

• Awards for Sustained Performance
o Florida State University
o Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

• Awards for Reduction in Claims Costs
o Florida International University
o Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
o Department of Military Affairs
o University of South Florida
o Department of Elder Affairs
o Division of Administrative Hearings
o Department of Transportation
o Agency for Persons with Disabilities
o New College of Florida

• Awards for Reduction in Claims Frequency
o Justice Administration Commission
o Department of Business and Professional Regulations
o Department of Citrus
o Department of Corrections
o Florida Gulf Coast University
o Department of Management Services
o Florida State University
o Department of Financial Services

• The Safety Coordinator of the Year
o Laymon Gray, Florida State University
o Andy Snuggs, Justice Administration Commission
o Tommy Blankenship, Department of Juvenile Justice

• Alternate Safety Coordinator of the Year
o Paul Palmiotto, Department of Law Enforcement
o Mark Eacker, Department of Transportation
o John Criswell, Department of Juvenile Justice

The Florida Legislature established the IAC on Loss Prevention in 1979. It is composed of the safety coordinators from each state department and a representative designated by the Division of Risk Management. The council meets quarterly to discuss and find solutions for safety problems within state government.

Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater, a statewide elected official and officer of the Florida Cabinet, oversees the Department of Financial Services.  CFO Atwater’s priorities include fighting financial fraud, abuse and waste in government, reducing government spending and regulatory burdens that chase away businesses, and providing transparency and accountability in spending.