main menu page title feature menus content footer
My Florida C F O

CFO's Initiatives

Stay Connected

Follow the
Department of
Financial Services

Sign up for the CFO's
weekly newsletter!

Press Release

News   RSS RSS   Press Office   Archive

CFO Sink Recognizes Heroic Efforts of FL Search & Rescue Teams in Haiti


CONTACT: Kevin Cate or Jayme O’Rourke, 850-413-2842
TALLAHASSEE— The Florida Cabinet today recognized the Miami Dade Fire Rescue Florida Task Force 1 and the South Florida Urban Search and Rescue Task Force 2, two of six urban search and rescue teams from the United States which operated in Haiti looking for survivors trapped in collapsed buildings. The resolution was sponsored by Florida CFO and State Fire Marshal Alex Sink. 
“Floridians and people from all over the world are forever grateful for the bravery and professionalism our task forces displayed in Haiti,” said CFO Sink. “Their heroic acts serve to remind us all of the character of dedication of our emergency response personnel.”
Florida’s two task forces are credited with rescuing 18 people, including five children, and an American citizen from Florida. Each team is a part of the National Urban Search & Rescue Response System, responding to domestic emergencies such as the Oklahoma City Bombing, the World Trade Center and Hurricane Katrina. The teams are comprised of participating agencies across South Florida and sponsored by the City of Miami Fire Rescue. Both teams are mobilized and deployed with highly trained search and rescue personnel, search canines, and specialized tools and equipment.
Prior to the Florida Cabinet meeting, CFO Sink hosted members of the task force with a reception. Among those participating in today’s recognition:
Representing Miami Dade Fire Rescue Florida Task Force 1 -
•           Dave Downey, Task Force Leader
•           Foy Jenkins, Rescue Team Manager
•           Louie Fernandez, Planning Team Manager
•           Michael Marks, Search Team Manager
Representing the South Florida Urban Search and Rescue Florida Task Force 2 –
•           Charles McDermott - Public Affairs Officer
•           Scott Dean - Logistics Coordinator
•           Brean Lopez - Communications Coordinator
•           Donald Minor - Medical Team Coordinator
A copy of the Cabinet resolution is attached. 
# # #