Volume 5 Number 16
April 18, 2008


CFO Sink welcomes the honorees and guests for the Fire Service Awards ceremony on the 22nd floor of The Capitol.

SFM Division Director Les Hallman congratulates fire service personnel from all over Florida.


Fire Chief of the Year-- Bill Gulbrandsen, West Palm Beach Fire-Rescue Department

Fire Instructor of the Year-- Gregory L. Lanning, City of St. Petersburg Fire Rescue






Florida Chief Financial Officer and State Fire Marshal Alex Sink this week recognized the Coral Springs Fire Academy and honored 10 fire and rescue service personnel for exceptional dedication to fire and rescue services during the past year. CFO Sink presented each honoree with an individual resolution signed by Governor Charlie Crist and members of the Cabinet at Monday evening’s Fire Service Awards ceremony. The honorees were also recognized jointly at Tuesday’s Cabinet meeting in the Capitol.

“Every day, brave firefighters across the state risk their lives to protect Florida’s families,” said CFO Sink. “Today, we honor the men and women who went above and beyond the call of duty and exemplify a deep commitment to their profession.”

In addition to honoring these individuals, the Florida Cabinet designated April 13-19, 2008, as Florida Firefighter Appreciation Week. During the week, Florida’s firefighters and paramedics are recognized for efforts to raise funds for the Muscular Dystrophy Association. Last year, Florida’s firefighters raised a record amount-- nearly $2.6 million-- during their annual “Fill the Boot” campaign.

CFO Sink presented the following with Fire Service Awards:

Florida Firefighter of the Year-- Martha Scott, Miami-Dade Fire Rescue

Florida Professional Firefighter of the Year
-- George Sucarichi, second from right, Hillsborough County Fire Rescue.

Fire Marshal of the Year
-- Randall A. Mells, left, Division of State Fire Marshal



Forestry Firefighter of the Year-- Sidney Brown, second from right, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Forestry

• Training Center of the Year-- Coral Springs Fire Academy, accepted by Chief Robert Bertone, third from left, Chief of Training

• Volunteer Firefighter of the Year-- Chad Destories, second from right, Hillsborough County Fire Rescue.

Fire Service Inspector of the Year
-- Kevin M. Rausch, middle, Clermont Fire Department

Emergency Preparedness Manager of the Year-- Dan Summers, second from right, Collier County Department of Emergency Management

Fire Investigator of the Year-- Tim Robles, second from right, Sanford Fire Department

Fire Service Awards are coordinated through the State Fire Marshal’s Office annually and are sponsored by one or more of the following fire-service related organizations: the Florida Joint Council of Fire & Emergency Services, the Fire Training Director’s Association, the Florida State Firefighters Association, the Fire Chiefs’ Association, the Fire Marshal and Inspectors Association, the Professional Firefighters Association and the Emergency Preparedness Association.