Volume 4 Number 19
May 11, 2007


On Monday May 7th, Florida Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink participated in the Fraternal Order of Police 25th Annual Police Memorial Service outside the Capitol.  At the memorial, the Fraternal Order of Police remembered the 666 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty in the State of Florida.

Every year the Fraternal Order of Police publishes the names of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.  This year’s list marked the 25th Anniversary Edition of the Law Enforcement Officer’s Memorial Ceremony Program.  During 2006, the following police officers were killed in the line of duty: 

Joseph S. Hover, St. Lucie County Sheriff’s Office, October 8, 2005

John Michael Piskator, Key West Police Department, January 23, 2006

Ryan Christopher Seguin, Broward County Sheriff’s Office, February 15, 2006

Juan Serrano, Tampa Police Department, February 25, 2006

William “Buddy” Sentner, U.S. Department of Justice – Office of Inspector General, June 21, 2006

Michael A. Callin, Orange County Sheriff’s Office, August 2, 2006

Vernon Matthew Williams, Polk County Sheriff’s Office, September 28, 2006

Christopher C. Daniels, Sr., Lake County Sheriff’s Office, October 14, 2006

Margena Silva Nunze, Lee County Sheriff’s Office, October 22, 2006

Brian Keith Tephford, Broward County Sheriff’s Office, November 12, 2006