Volume 4 Number 15
April 13, 2007


Underneath blue, sunny skies and the canopies of stately oak trees, majestic 18-wheeler trucks brushed with “No-Zone” logos had a picture-perfect stage as they rolled into the Capitol Courtyard on March 28. At the request of Senator Daniel Webster and Representative Dennis Ross, Senate and House Resolutions were presented recognizing March 28 as Truckers Day in Florida, and Governor Charlie Crist signed a Proclamation for the observance of Truckers Day at the Capitol.

FTA was indeed honored that Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink stopped by and enrolled for “No-Zone” driver education training and received her official certification from FTA Road Team Member Andy Severe, pictured here.

Over the course of the day, nearly 200 students from local area high schools—East Gadsden High, Leon High School, Godby High School—and out-of-area middle school—Lyons Creek Middle School in Coconut Creek—received instruction on how to “share the road safely with big trucks”.  Taught by the best in the business—FTA’s Road Team—students were taken through a safety demonstration duplicating a real life highway scenario with cars and trucks.  As part of the instruction, students were able to get behind the cab of a big rig and see from the inside of a big-rig cab the blind spots around tractor-trailers where cars "disappear" from a truck driver's view—referred to as “The No-Zone.”  FTA is grateful to the Driver Education Teacher Charles Green from East Gadsden High School, Driver Education Teacher Adolph Hicks from Leon High School and Driver Education Teacher Jesse Forbes from Godby High School for taking the opportunity to learn about FTA’s No-Zone training program and for including their students in this driver safety education experience. 

A special note of thanks is extended to FTA Member Companies that provided the No-Zone equipment:  AAA Cooper Transportation, Armellini Express Lines, Landspan and Mckenzie Tank Lines.  Training cannot take place without the equipment and the trainers and we are grateful to the sponsoring FTA Member Companies for their contributions and commitment to FTA programs.