Volume 2 Number 28
July 11, 2005

Florida Department of Financial Services Home Page button
Service Point button
Consumer Services HelpLine Number 800-342-2762


From left to right: Jana Sterling, VFF; Roxann Campbell, VFF; Mark Merry, FLDFS; Roosevelt Alexander, VFF; Liza McFadden, VFF, Steve Uhlfelder, FHRF; and Lisa Miller, FLDFS.






The Volunteer Florida Foundation recognized Chief Financial Officer Tom Gallagher and Department of Financial Services’ Financial Administrator Mark Merry for instrumental work in helping establish the financial policies and procedures for the Florida Hurricane Relief Fund. 

The Florida Hurricane Relief Fund was established by Governor Jeb Bush to help Florida’s hurricane survivors with needs not covered by government or insurance assistance.  Gov. Bush named nonprofit Volunteer Florida to manage it. 

CFO Gallagher praised Mark Merry for helping establish the Fund’s allocation formulas, financial structure, financial policies and auditing procedures.  Mark was recognized for his work with a Governor’s Award for outstanding service.  Giving the award was the Fund’s Voluntary CEO Steve Uhlfelder, a Tallahassee-based attorney, and Foundation President Liza McFadden. 

“Their leadership and important work has helped ensure efficient and effective allocation of much needed recovery funds to the most distressed communities of our state following the devastating 2004 hurricanes,” remarked Uhlfelder of CFO Gallagher and Merry. 

According to Gallagher, Mark’s knowledge of accounting and auditing procedures enabled him to advise the allocation of more than $20 million in donations collected from 50 states in less than six months.  The funding is being made to help impacted communities assess unmet needs on an on-going basis as recovery progresses.  

“On behalf of the department, we congratulate Mark for achieving this special recognition and for his incredible work to ensure money is properly directed to storm victims,” said CFO Gallagher.

Walton County was created in 1824, shortly after Florida became a territory of the United States. The courthouse is in the county seat of DeFuniak Springs.