TYPE AND CLASS:
73-20 Non-Resident Public Adjuster License
Common Use(s) of License:
A "public adjuster" is any person, except a duly licensed attorney at law as
exempted under s. 626.860, who, for money, commission, or any other thing of
value, prepares, completes, or files an insurance claim form for an insured or
third-party claimant or who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value,
acts on behalf of, or aids an insured or third-party claimant in negotiating for
or effecting the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage covered by
an insurance contract or who advertises for employment as an adjuster of such
claims. The term also includes any person who, for money, commission, or any
other thing of value, solicits, investigates, or adjusts such claims on behalf
of a public adjuster.
STEPS TO OBTAIN 73-20 NON-RESIDENT PUBLIC
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A non-resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click
here for more information]
Step 2 -
Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Prerequisite:
- Proof of your resident license, as indicated in Step 2, is
verified through the National Association Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). In the
event that your license can not be verified, the Bureau may request a Letter of
Certification from your home state to verify you are licensed. The Letter of
Certification can be obtained from your home state and it must be dated no
earlier than 30 days of your date of application.
- Please email prerequisites (except Bond requirement) to: AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Examination:
Disregard this step if you passed the exam within one year prior to applying for the license.
- Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your
messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your
notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination.
Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam Information page]
Nonresident applicants are required to take
the Florida public adjuster examination, and will not be qualified for a license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.
Step 7 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and click the “Wallet” and/or “Letter” hyperlink(s), under the “Print Licenses” section, to generate a copy of your license for printing.
- Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state,
and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a
license per Florida Statute 626.860. Note: This does not exempt
attorneys from the state examination if an adjuster license is applied
- Upon licensure, a public adjuster must be appointed in his or her own name, or by a public adjuster or a public adjusting firm.
- Cannot hold more than one adjuster license at a time.
- Continuing Education (CE) Requirement: 24 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 626.2815, Florida Statutes. Public adjuster level courses are designated as CE3-20 and CE5-320 only. Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.
- Appointment of License: This license requires an appointment to be active. Section 626.112(1)(a), Florida Statutes. An adjuster can only hold one appointment at a time.
- Expiration of License: This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
- Third party access must be authorized by the licensee through MyProfile in order for the third party to manage the licensing submissions and changes on behalf of the licensee.
- Designation/Deletion of Primary Adjuster for Adjusting Firm (DFS-H2-6364)
- Related Florida Statutes: 626.854 and 626.8732