TYPE AND CLASS:
4-40 Resident Customer Representative
Common Use(s) of License:
A salaried employee of the general
lines (property and casualty) agent or agency that may transact automobile,
water craft, home, motorcycle, and pet insurance under the supervision of a
licensed and appointed general lines agent.
STEPS TO OBTAIN 4-40 RESIDENT CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click
here for more information]
- Not hold a resident license in another state.
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Within the last 4 years, awarded one of the following department approved designations:
[More Designation Information] [Exempt from State Examination]
- Accredited Advisor in Insurance (AAI) from the Insurance Institute of America
- Accredited Customer Service Representative (ACSR) from the Insurance Institute of America
- Associate in General Insurance (AINS) from the Insurance Institute of America
- Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC) from the Society of Certified Insurance Service Counselors
- Certified Insurance Representative (CIR) from the All-Lines Training
- Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) from the Society of Certified Insurance Service Representatives
- Certified Professional Service Representative (CPSR) from the National Foundation for CPSR
- Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriters (CPCU) from the American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters
- Professional Customer Service Representative (PCSR) from the Professional Career Institute
- Registered Customer Service Representative (RCSR) from an Accredited Postsecondary Institution in this State
- Earned an associate degree or bachelor's degree from an accredited college
or university when the degree includes at least 9 credit hours of insurance instruction with specific instruction in property, casualty, and inland marine insurance
curriculum, or the equivalent. An official transcript is required.
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.
- Cannot be employed by more than one general lines agent or agency at any
given time and must be housed in the office of the agent or agency.
- May not obtain the license to write or handle controlled business per
Florida Statute 626.730.
- Cannot engage in transacting insurance outside of the office of his/her
agent or agency.
- Can receive commission. Compensation cannot be primarily based on commissions. Commissions and other insurance related payments should be no more than half of their total pay during any given year. F.S. 626.7354(3)
The Customer Representative license cannot be held with the following
- 0-55 SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE
- 0-60 MANAGING GENERAL AGENT
- 0-93 LIFE (FOREIGN/MILITARY)
- 1-20 SURPLUS LINES
- 2-20-GENERAL LINES
- 2-21 MOTOR VEHICLE AND MECHANICAL BREAKDOWN
- 2-23 RESIDENT MOTOR VEHICLE RENTAL
- 2-33 INDUSTRIAL FIRE OR BURGLARY
- T1-20 SURPLUS LINES
- T2-20-GENERAL LINES
- T2-33 INDUSTRIAL FIRE OR BURGLARY
- Continuing Education (CE) Requirement: 10 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 626.2815, Florida Statutes. Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.
- Appointment of License: This license requires an appointment to be valid per Section 626.112(4), Florida Statutes.. This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months per Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
- Third party access must be authorized by the licensee through MyProfile in order for the third party to manage the licensing submissions and changes on behalf of the licensee.
- Related Florida Statutes: 626.015, 626.7351