RESIDENT LIMITED SURETY (BAIL BOND) AGENT
TYPE AND CLASSES:
2-34 Limited Surety (Bail Bond) Agent
Florida Statutes 648.25 defines a "LIMITED SURETY (BAIL BOND)
AGENT" as an individual appointed by an insurer by power of attorney
to execute or countersign bail bonds in connection with judicial
proceedings who receives or is promised money or other things of
Continuing Education (CE) Requirement:
14 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 648.385, Florida Statutes.
Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.
Appointment of License:
This license requires an appointment to be valid.
Expiration of License:
This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months.
Complete an online application for license and submit
Apply for license
Applicant must have obtained a
for Limited Surety Agent or Professional Bail
Bond Agent and have worked under that license
completing 12 months of employment with at least 1,540 hours, prior to applying for this permanent license pursuant to s. 648.355, F.S., and further clarified in Rule 69B-221.051, F.A.C. All appropriate forms for Temporary Limited Surety Agent or Professional Bail Bond Agent must have been completed correctly and filed with the Department each month.
Be a natural person at least 18 years of age and
hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Be a resident of the state of Florida.
Be a United States citizen or legal alien who
possesses a work authorization from the United
States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
- You must be fingerprinted. [Click here and follow the instructions]
Applicant must be a person of high character and approved
integrity and has never been convicted of or pleaded guilty or
no contest to a felony, a crime involving moral turpitude, or a
crime punishable by imprisonment of 1 year or more under the law
of any state, territory or country whether or not a judgment or
conviction is entered.
- The applicant must pass the required examination. [Click here for state
- A person who fails an examination three times must retake the 120-hour course and obtain a grade of 80 percent or higher before sitting for the examination again. [Section 648.381, Florida Statutes]
- Applicants place of business must be located in this state and in
the county where the applicant will maintain his or her records and
be actively engaged in the bail bond business and maintain an agency
accessible to the public which is open for reasonable business
- The applicant is vouched for and recommended upon statements
filed with the Department by at least (3) reputable citizens who are
residents of the same counties in which the applicant proposes to
engage in the bail bond business. This is sent in with the temporary
license application; however, if the person has changed counties,
they must furnish new statements.
(Click here for the form)
- Applicant cannot be any of the following:
- Jailer or persons employed in any jail.
- Police officers or employees of any police department or law
- Committing magistrates, employees of a court, or employees
of the Clerk of Court.
- Sheriffs and deputy sheriffs or employees of any sheriffs
- Person having the power to arrest or person who have
authority over or control of federal, state, county, or