Resident Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License
Click here for more information about temporary licenses available due to COVID-19.
TYPE AND CLASS:
2-14 Resident Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License
Common Use(s) of License:
An individual representing an insurer as to life insurance and annuity contracts, including agents appointed to transact life insurance, fixed-dollar annuity contracts, or variable contracts by the same insurer. Annuity contracts, including, but not limited to, fixed or variable annuity contracts; the granting of endowment benefits, additional benefits in event of death or dismemberment by accident or accidental means, additional benefits in event of the insured’s disability; and optional modes of settlement of proceeds of life insurance.
STEPS TO OBTAIN 2-14 RESIDENT LIFE (INCLUDING ANNUITIES & VARIABLE CONTRACTS) LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- Be a bona fide resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click
here for more information]
- Not be an employee of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or state service office, as referred to in Section 626.788, Florida Statutes.
- Not hold a resident license in another state.
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Successfully taught or completed a 40 hour life, variable contracts prelicensing course within four (4) years of application date. [Click here
to find a course] [Requires State Examination]
NOTE: F.A.C. rule 69B-227.260, Study Manuals are required for all attendees of a pre-licensing course.
- Within the last 4 years, have been awarded a Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) from the American College of Financial Services or a Fellow, Life Management Institute (FLMI) designation from the Life Management Institute. [Requires State Examination]
- Earned a degree which includes at least 9 credit hours of insurance instruction with specific instruction in life, annuities, and variable insurance products from an accredited college or university [an
official transcript required]. [Exempt from State Examination]
- Become a resident of Florida, held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority for at least one (1) continuous year prior to applying for a license in Florida, and submit the application for the Florida Life (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) license within 90 days of becoming a resident of Florida. [Transfer of License] [Exempt from State Examination]
- If more than 90 days after becoming a resident of Florida, held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority in a reciprocal state within the four (4) year period prior to filing a Florida resident license application for the Florida Health & Life (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) license, are exempt from the prelicensing course requirement, but must take the Florida licensing exam. [Reciprocity List for Waiver of Prelicensing Course] [Requires State Examination]
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Note: If you have taken a prelicensing course, your prelicensing education provider will automatically send the Bureau proof within 21 days of your passing date. This does not include designations.
Email proof of prerequisite to: AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Disregard this step if you are not required to take
an exam or you passed the exam within one year prior to applying for the license.
- Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your
messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your
notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination.
Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam Information page]
Note: If you are required to take an examination, you will not be qualified for a license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.
Step 7 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and
click the “Wallet” and/or “Letter” hyperlink(s), under the “Print Licenses” section, to generate a copy of your license for printing.
- Must not be a funeral director or direct disposer, or an employee or representative thereof, or have an office in, or in connection with, a funeral establishment, except that a funeral establishment may contract with a life insurance agent to sell a preneed contract as defined in s.
Such insurance agent may sell limited policies of insurance covering the expense of final disposition or burial of an insured in the amount of $21,000.
However, a funeral director, a direct disposer, or an employee of a funeral
establishment that holds a certificate of authority pursuant to
497.452 may obtain an agent's license to sell only policies
of life insurance covering the expense of a prearrangement for
funeral services or merchandise so as to provide funds at the
time the services and merchandise are needed. The face amount of
insurance covered by any such policy shall not exceed $21,000. [Section 626.785, Florida Statutes]
- Continuing Education (CE) Requirement: 24 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 626.2815, Florida Statutes. Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.
- Appointment of License: This license requires an appointment to be valid. Section 626.112(4), Florida Statutes.
- Expiration of License: This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
- Third party access must be authorized by the licensee through MyProfile in order for the third party to manage the licensing submissions and changes on behalf of the licensee.
- Related Florida Statutes: 624.602, 626.015 & 626.785