TYPE AND CLASS:
2-15 Health & Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License
Common Use(s) of License:
An individual representing an insurer
as to life insurance and annuity contracts, including agents appointed to
transact life insurance, fixed-dollar annuity contracts, or variable contracts
by the same insurer. Annuity contracts, including, but not limited to, fixed or
variable annuity contracts; the granting of endowment benefits, additional
benefits in event of death or dismemberment by accident or accidental means,
additional benefits in event of the insured’s disability; and optional modes of
settlement of proceeds of life insurance. Representing a health maintenance
organization or, as to health insurance only, an insurer transacting health
insurance; insurance against loss through sickness or accidental bodily injury.
Related Florida Statutes:
624.602, 624.603, 626.015 & 626.785
Continuing Education (CE) Requirement:
24 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 626.2815, Florida Statutes.
Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.
Appointment of License:
This license requires an appointment to be valid. Section 626.112(4), Florida Statutes.
Expiration of License:
This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
STEPS TO OBTAIN RESIDENT 2-15 HEALTH & LIFE (INCLUDING ANNUITIES & VARIABLE CONTRACTS):
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click
here for more information]
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Successfully taught or completed a 60 hour approved insurance course for life and health
including variable annuity insurance. Must be completed within four years of
application date. [Click here to find a course] [Requires State
F.A.C. rule 69B-227.260, Study Manuals are required for all attendees of a pre-licensing course.
- Within the last 4 years, successfully taught or completed:
- 40 hour life, annuity, and variable contracts pre-licensing course, or
- Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) from the American College of Financial Services, or
- Fellow, Life Management Institute (FLMI) from the Life Management Institute
- 40 hour health pre-licensing course, or
- Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBC) from the
Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, or
- Chartered Healthcare Consultant (ChHC) from the
American College of Financial Services, or
- Health Insurance Associate (HIA) from the
America’s Health Insurance Plans, or
- Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC) from the
American College of Financial Services, or
- Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) from the
American College of Financial Services
- Earned a degree which includes at least 9 semester hours of health insurance, life insurance, annuities, and variable contracts from an accredited college or
university [an official transcript required]. [Exempt from State Examination]
- Become a resident of Florida, held a valid resident license with the
equivalent line of authority for at least one (1) continuous year prior to
applying for a license in Florida, and submit the application for the Florida health & life (including annuities & variable contracts) license within 90 days of
becoming a resident of Florida. [Transfer of License] [Reciprocity List for Waiver of
Prelicensing Course] [Exempt from State Examination]
- Have an original letter from the American College of Financial
certifying the licensee was awarded the Chartered Life Underwriters (CLU) designation. [Exempt from
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Note: If you have taken a prelicensing course, your
prelicensing education provider will automatically send the Bureau proof within
20 days of your passing date. This does not include designations.
Department of Financial
Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
200 East Gaines
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
Step 7 - Examination:
Disregard this step if you are not required to take
- Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your
messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your
notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination.
Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam Information page]
Step 8 - Print license:
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.
Note: If you are required to take an
examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has
received a passing result from the testing vendor.
- Must not be an employee of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
or state service office, as referred to in Section 626.788, Florida Statutes.
- Must not be a funeral director or direct disposer, or an employee or
representative thereof, or have an office in, or in connection with, a funeral
establishment, except that a funeral establishment may contract with a life
insurance agent to sell a preneed contract as defined in s. 497.005. Such insurance agent may sell limited policies of
insurance covering the expense of final disposition or burial of an insured in
the amount of $21,000. However, a funeral director, a direct disposer, or an
employee of a funeral establishment that holds a certificate of authority
pursuant to s. 497.452 may obtain an agent's license to sell only policies of
life insurance covering the expense of a prearrangement for funeral services or
merchandise so as to provide funds at the time the services and merchandise are
needed. The face amount of insurance covered by any such policy shall not exceed
$21,000. [Section 626.785, Florida Statutes]