Insurance Insights header
Volume 3, No. 4 - April 2014

Education Central

- Things to know about your continuing education

Answers to the Common Questions about New CE Compliance Cycles

October 1, 2014 is speedily approaching. If you have a continuing education (CE) compliance cycle that ends after this date you may be aware that the requirements have changed. If you're not aware, or if you still have questions, this article should help. Below are responses to some of the most common questions we have received regarding CE compliance cycles ending after October 1, 2014.

What is this 5-Hour course?

The 5-hour Law and Ethics update course is a NEW requirement for licensees with a compliance cycle ending October 2014 or later, except for title agents. The 5-hour course must be specific to a line of insurance for which you are licensed. There are many approved courses that may be found on our website at https://dice.fldfs.com/public/pb_srch_adv.asp.

What courses do I take to satisfy elective hour requirements?

Elective hours are the remaining balance of your CE requirement aside from the 5-hour course. Most licensees can satisfy this requirement by completing any approved continuing education course.

Can I really take ANY approved course?

For most licensees, the answer is yes. However, public adjusters will be required to satisfy ALL continuing education requirements by completing courses that are approved in the line of public adjusting. Title insurance agents are not included in the 5-hour course requirement and therefore must complete courses that are approved in the line of title insurance.

Can I take a course twice?

Not within a three year window; otherwise, it is considered a duplicate. Licensees must take a different 5-hour Law and Ethics update course every 2 years. Education providers will be required to submit a new 5-hour course outline each year with updated information if they desire to continue offering the course.

What if I hold more than one license type?

Dually licensed insurance representatives (those with multiple license types), except title insurance agents, will have CE requirements of all licenses merged into one compliance cycle every two years requiring 24 hours of approved course work. Any applicable reduction of hours that has been earned and/or approved will still apply.

A 5-hour course completed in any line of insurance for which someone is dually licensed will satisfy the 5-hour course requirement for the cycle.

Are non-resident requirements different?

Non-resident adjusters and public adjusters can satisfy their Florida CE requirement by meeting the CE requirements of their home state or a reciprocal state in which they are also licensed. You can check this by clicking here to view a list. Otherwise, they must complete Florida CE requirements as resident adjusters or public adjusters respectively.

Non-resident agents can satisfy their Florida CE requirement by meeting the CE requirements of their home state. Otherwise, they must complete Florida CE requirements as resident agents.

Non-resident title insurance agents must complete the same Florida CE requirements as those for resident title insurance agents.

Can I take a basic course?

Yes, even if you are an experienced licensee. There is no longer a requirement to take an intermediate or advanced course.

What if I take too many hours?

Excess hours taken during any compliance cycle are eligible to be carried over to the next compliance cycle. Duplicate courses will not receive credit.

As always send any comments or questions about CE to Education@MyFloridaCFO.com.

How to Search for Approved CE Courses

Looking for continuing education (CE) courses to be sure you get all your hours completed? Our online course search can easily help you by listing those courses approved by the Department.

  1. Go to our website at www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents.
  2. Click on MyProfile on the left panel and log in to your account.
  3. Once in your MyProfile inbox, click on Locate at the top left. Then click on Future Course Offerings.
  4. Select the Course Authority for the type of license held or course you need to take.
  5. You can also make other choices, like Study Method and Location, to narrow your search results.
  6. If you click on Perform an Advanced Search, you will have additional options to narrow your search results, such as Course Date and Course Level.

Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your MyProfile account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status. You will also be able to find more approved CE courses after logging in to your MyProfile account versus the public search option, which limits the results to the first 100 course offerings.

Education Providers: Get into the Fast Lane for Course Approval

Do you ever feel like you're idling in the slow lane when it comes to getting a course approved? We know it can be difficult managing the many tight deadlines in filing your continuing education material while keeping up with the demands of your clients. Even more frustrating is experiencing delays because you're submittals are incomplete. Here are some quick and effective tips to help you merge into the course approval fast lane.

Accelerate your understanding of course types and their requirements. Cruise over to our Education information section at www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents/Licensure/Education, where you can find requirements for all CE course types. You'll also find FAQs, templates, checklists, and resource guides for the new 5-hour law and ethics courses. Don't get blindsided by a requirement you didn't know about.

Get to know applicable Florida Statutes and Administrative Code bumper to bumper. It may sound like a long, boring trip, but take the time to read the sections of statutes and rules that apply to courses.

Don't get in a jam when it comes to subject matter. Courses submitted with prohibited subjects like sales and marketing will only leave you stranded. Not sure if the subject you'd like to teach is approvable? Check out Rule 69B-228.080, F.A.C., for details on hazardous subjects you'll need to steer clear of.

Put the pedal to the metal in MyProfile. The Department's online system for course applications, approvals and information requests may seem like a monster truck at first, but it's easy to navigate once you've taken it for a spin. Head over to the MyProfile help page for more direction. Once you're familiar with the process and the system, you can take the cruise control off and accelerate.

Don't coast on another state's approval. Florida's course requirements are based on our statutes and administrative code. Unfortunately, proof of course approval in another state has no bearing on this trip.

Have a favorite "gear head" that you go to with car questions? Well, the Department has those for courses! Send us any questions at Education@MyFloridaCFO.com. The Education Team is always ready to help you traverse the course approval process!