Nonresident Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License
TYPE AND CLASS:
8-14 Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License
Common Use(s) of License:
An individual representing an insurer as to
life insurance and annuity contracts, including agents appointed to transact
life insurance, fixed-dollar annuity contracts, or variable contracts by the
same insurer. Annuity contracts, including, but not limited to, fixed or
variable annuity contracts; the granting of endowment benefits, additional
benefits in event of death or dismemberment by accident or accidental means,
additional benefits in event of the insured’s disability; and optional modes of
settlement of proceeds of life insurance.
STEPS TO OBTAIN 8-14 NON-RESIDENT LIFE (INCLUDING ANNUITIES & VARIABLE CONTRACTS) AGENT LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must:
- Be a natural person at least 18 years of age.
- Not be a resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
here for more information]
- Not be an employee of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or state service office, as referred to in Section 626.788, Florida Statutes.
- Not hold a resident license in another state.
Step 2 - Home State License:
- You must have the same lines of authority in your home state before
applying. Note: A Florida non-resident license
is only valid for the same line of authority you hold in your home state. We cannot approve your application if you do
not hold the Life line of authority in your home state. In Florida, all Life
licenses include Variable Annuity. You do not have to hold Variable Annuity in
your home state to obtain this license, however you may not transact variable
annuities in Florida if you do not hold this authority in your home state.
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 -
Send prerequisite(s) to Department:
- Proof of your prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, is verified through the National
Association Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). In the event that your license can
not be verified, the Bureau may request a Letter of Certification from your home
state to verify you are licensed. The Letter of Certification can be obtained
from your home state and it must be dated no earlier than 30 days of your date
Email proof of
prerequisite to: AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account
and click the “Wallet” and/or “Letter” hyperlink(s), under the “Print Licenses” section, to generate a copy of your license for printing.
- Must not be an employee of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
or state service office, as referred to in Section 626.788, Florida Statutes.
- Must not be a funeral director or direct disposer, or an employee or
representative thereof, or have an office in, or in connection with, a funeral
establishment, except that a funeral establishment may contract with a life
insurance agent to sell a preneed contract as defined in s. 497.005. Such insurance agent may sell limited policies of
insurance covering the expense of final disposition or burial of an insured in
the amount of $21,000. However, a funeral director, a direct disposer, or an
employee of a funeral establishment that holds a certificate of authority
pursuant to s. 497.452 may obtain an agent's license to sell only policies of
life insurance covering the expense of a prearrangement for funeral services or
merchandise so as to provide funds at the time the services and merchandise are
needed. The face amount of insurance covered by any such policy shall not exceed
$21,000. [Section 626.785, Florida Statutes]
- Foreign Insurance Agents click here for reciprocity information.
- Appointment of License: This license requires an appointment to be valid. Section 626.112(4), Florida Statutes.
- Expiration of License: This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
- Third party access must be authorized by the licensee through MyProfile in order for the third party to manage the licensing submissions and changes on behalf of the licensee.
- Related Florida Statutes: 624.602, 626.015 & 626.792