What Is Workers' Compensation?
What Should I Do?
What Should My Employer Do?
What If I Still Have Questions?
A cooperative effort
of the State of Florida
Division of Workers' Compensation
Employer and Employee Customer Councils
Revised May 1998
A State Required Program to Provide:
...to an employee injured as a result of a work-related activity.
Q: Do I have to pay any of my medical costs?
A: No. But if you were injured on or after 1/1/94, you must pay $10 per visit for treatment after your doctor releases you and you have reached maximum medical improvement (MMI).
Q: What kind of medical treatment can I get?
A: Medically necessary visits to an authorized health care provider (chiropractic visits may be limited), surgery, hospital care, dental, prescription medications, braces and crutches, mileage to and from the doctor, and any other medical supplies ordered by your authorized physician.
Q: Can I choose my own doctor or change
A: You can choose a doctor from the list of physicians provided by your employer's managed care arrangement or insurance carrier. If you go to a doctor other than one that is authorized, you may have to pay your own medical bills.
Q: If my injury makes me lose time from
work, will I be paid for the pay I lose?
A: You will not be paid for the first seven days you lose from work unless your injury is serious enough that you lose more than 21 days from work.
Q: When will I get my first check?
A: The earliest you can expect your check is within three weeks of your injury. This can only happen if you report your injury to your employer immediately.
Q: How much will my benefit check be?
A: In most cases, your weekly pay will be 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage, subject to a state maximum.
Q: Can my employer fire me if I file for
workers' compensation benefits?
A: By law, you cannot be fired for filing or attempting to file a workers' compensation claim.
Q: Will my employer keep my job for me?
A: Not necessarily. You and your employer need to work together to get you back to work as soon as you are able.
Q: If I am unable to return to the type of
work I did before I was injured, what can I do?
A: You may be able to get help finding another job or being retrained. Call the Department of Education, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation at (850) 245-3470 for information.
Your right to receive benefits and medical care may end if there has been no payment for lost pay or necessary medical care provided for a one year period.
This publication is being offered as an informational tool only, with the understanding that this is not official language of the Florida Statutes. In no event will the State of Florida, Division of Workers' Compensation be liable for any direct, indirect or consequential damages resulting from the use of this printed material.
Always contact your employer first. If you still have questions about workers' compensation, you may call toll free:
The State of Florida
Employee Assistance Office
The State of Florida Employee Assistance Office can assist you in:
"Any person who, knowingly and with intent to injure, defraud, or deceive any employer or employee, insurance company, or self-insured program, files a statement of claim containing any false or misleading information commits a felony of the third degree."