The net premiums written by the workers’ compensation carriers in Florida and the net premium applicable to the self-insurers in Florida are the basis for computing the amount to be assessed which is expressed as a percentage of net direct written premiums. Neither carriers nor self-insurers may deduct the cost or reinsurance. However, you may deduct dividends and refunds paid in a given quarter. These premiums are then applied to the current applicable SDTF assessment rate to determine the carrier’s quarterly assessment. Please review the questions below to learn more:
For calendar year 2018 the WCATF assessment rate is 0.97%.
For calendar year 2019 the WCATF assessment rate is 0.90%
For calendar year 2018 the SDTF assessment rate is 0.91%.
For calendar year 2019 the SDTF assessment rate is 0.42%
For Self-Insurers, the rate is effective for such self-insurers with rating effective dates after January 1 of the year that the rate would otherwise be effective.
The Division will estimate annually in advance the amount necessary for the administration and the maintenance of the SDTF and WCATF. By July 1 of each year the Division will calculate the SDTF and WCATF assessment rate, which is based on net premiums written for the SDTF and collected for WCATF by carriers and the amount of premium calculated by self insurers. Such assessment rate will take effect January 1 of the next calendar year.
Yes, the WCATF assessment rate has in fact decreased for each of the last seven calendar years.
Yes, the SDTF assessment rate has in fact decreased for each of the last nine calendar years.
Click here for:
The annual WCATF assessment rate may not exceed 2.75 percent per Section 440.51, Florida Statutes. And
The annual SDTF assessment rate may not exceed 2.50 percent per Section 440.49(9) c, Florida Statutes.