- Things to know about your continuing education
Have you ever used a navigation system? I have. Right now you might even say GPS is my constant companion. Let me explain. I am new to Florida, so every day I am learning more and more about my surroundings. GPS has taken me to some amazing destinations, white sandy beaches, cozy cafes, quaint walking trails and the grocery store. If it were not for GPS, I would often be lost.
Just as it is taking me time to become familiar with my surroundings, new licensees need time to learn their profession. One program specifically designed to help licensees is continuing education. For all lines except Title, during the first six (6) years of licensure 19 elective credit hours are required. This requirement allows a licensee to focus on learning their profession.
Once a licensee has been licensed for six (6) or more consecutive years in Florida, or after their third continuing education cycle, their CE requirement is automatically reduced to 15 elective hours.
Florida also recognizes long-time licensees. A licensee that has been licensed for 25 years or more in any state and has a CLU or a CPCU or has a Bachelor of Science degree in risk management or insurance with evidence of 18 or more semester hours in insurance-related courses, their CE requirement is reduced to 5 elective hours in addition to the 5 hour law and ethics course.
If you meet these requirements, you will need to complete the reduction form found on our website at http://www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents/ to apply. Once the form is completed and your qualifications have been verified, the reduction will be applied to your CE cycle.
In addition to the requirements listed above, each licensee, except title agents, must complete a 5-hour law and ethics course every two years.
To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. Below are a few suggestions for remaining CE compliant:
We wish you success in completing your hours to remain knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market. And remember, your CE compliance date is your DUE date, not your DO date.
Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your MyProfile account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status. You will also be able to find more approved CE courses after logging in to your MyProfile account versus the public search option, which limits the results to the first 100 course offerings.