jump to main menu jump to subject menu jump to content jump to footer

Division Director

Greg Thomas

Insurance Agent and Agency Services
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0318
Bureau of Licensing
(850) 413-3137
Bureau of Investigation
(850) 413-3136



  • 6-20 All Lines

Common Use(s) of License:

An "independent adjuster" means a person licensed as an all-lines adjuster who is self-appointed or appointed and employed by an independent adjusting firm or other independent adjuster, and who undertakes on behalf of an insurer to ascertain and determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under an insurance contract or undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or damage.

A "company employee adjuster" means a person licensed as an all-lines adjuster who is appointed and employed on an insurer's staff of adjusters or a wholly owned subsidiary of the insurer, and who undertakes on behalf of such insurer or other insurers under common control or ownership to ascertain and determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under a contract of insurance, or undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or damage.

Related Florida Statutes:

626.8548, 626.855, 626.856, 626.864, 626.866, 626.8695


Step 1 - You must be:

  • A natural person at least 18 years of age.
  • A resident of the state of Florida.
  • A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click here for more information]

Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:

  • Currently licensed as an all lines public adjuster. [Exempt from State Examination]
  • An original letter from one of the following institutions awarding one of the following designations:
    • Accredited Postsecondary Institution in this State - Accredited Claims Adjuster (ACA)
    • AE21 Incorporated - Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA)
    • All Lines Training - Certified Adjuster (CA)
    • American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters - Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU)
    • HurriClaim Training Academy - Professional Property Insurance Adjuster (PPIA)
    • Insurance Institute of America - Associate in Claims (AIC)
    • Professional Career Institute - Professional Claims Adjuster (PCA)
    • Claims and Litigation Management Alliance (CLM) - Universal Claims Certification (UCC)
    [More Designation Information] [Exempt from State Examination]
  • Earned an insurance degree which includes at least 18 semester hours of college credit in property, casualty, health, and commercial insurance from an accredited college or university. [an official transcript required]. [Exempt from State Examination]
  • Currently licensed as a General Lines (Property and Casualty) agent. [Exempt from State Examination]
  • Obtain a Letter of Clearance indicating you held an all-lines adjuster license (company or independent) for at least one (1) year immediately preceding applying for a Florida license and apply for a resident all-lines adjuster license within 90 days of becoming a Florida resident. [Transfer of License] [Exempt from State Examination]
  • If you do not hold one of the prerequisites above, you will be required to take the state examination and may skip "Step 4" below. [Requires State Examination]

Step 3 - Apply:

Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:

  • Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.

    Mail to:
    Department of Financial Services
    Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
    200 East Gaines Street
    Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319

Step 5 - Fingerprints:

Step 6 - Status notification(s):

  • Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under the pending license type.

Step 7 - Examination:

Disregard this step if you are not required to take an exam.

  • Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may securely view your notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination. Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
    [Click here for the Exam Information page]

Step 8 - Print license:

  • Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.

    Note: If you are required to take an examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.

Special Note:

  • Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license per Florida Statutes 626.860. Note: This does not exempt attorneys from the state examination if an adjuster license is applied for.
  • There are (24) hours of continuing education required.
  • Can not hold more than one adjuster license at a time.
  • An adjuster license can only hold one appointment at a time.