jump to main menu jump to subject menu jump to content jump to footer

Division Director

Greg Thomas


Insurance Agent and Agency Services
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0318
Bureau of Licensing
(850) 413-3137
Bureau of Investigation
(850) 413-3136

NON-RESIDENT TITLE INSURANCE AGENCY

TYPE AND CLASS:
4-13 Non-Resident Title Insurance Agency License


Common Use(s) of License:

Florida Statutes 626.841(2) defines a “TITLE INSURANCE AGENCY” as an insurance agency under which title insurance agents and other employees determine insurability in accordance with underwriting rules and standards prescribed by the title insurer represented by the agency, and issue and countersign commitments, endorsements, or policies of title insurance, on behalf of the appointing title insurer. The term does not include a title insurer.


STEPS TO OBTAIN 4-13 NON-RESIDENT TITLE INSURANCE AGENCY LICENSE:

Step 1 - You must:

  • At time of application and throughout the existence of the license, the entity must provide the name, social security number, and address of a licensed resident title agent or an attorney in good standings with the Florida Bar. The licensed title agent or attorney will be in full time charge of the agency office.
  • Not have your business located in Florida.

Step 2 - Apply:

Step 3 – Fingerprints:

Step 4 - Status notification(s):

  • Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under the pending license type.
  • Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and click the “Wallet” and/or “Letter” hyperlink(s), under the “Print Licenses” section, to generate a copy of your license for printing.

Special Notes:

  • Fidelity bond in an amount of not less than $50,000. [ss. 626.8419(1)(a), F.S.]  Please do not send your bond to the Department, the bond is required to be maintained in the Title Agency's office.  
  • A Surety bond in an amount not less than $35,000 made payable to the title insurer or title insurers appointing the agency must be maintained in the Title Agency’s office. The surety bond must be for the benefit of any appointing title insurer damaged by a violation by the title insurance agency of its contract with the appointing title insurer. [ss. 626.8419(1)(c), F.S.] Please contact your title insurer(s) regarding this if you have questions. Please do not send your bond to the Department as the bond is required to be maintained in the Title Agency's office.
  • Errors and omissions insurance in an amount not less than $250,000 per claim and an aggregate limit with a deductible not greater than $10,000 [ss. 626.8419(1)(b), F.S.].
  • Title Administrative Surcharge is due in January - Click here to view the Title Administrative Surcharge Information page
  • Appointment of License: This license requires an appointment with a Florida authorized title insurer. This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
  • Expiration of License: This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
  • Third party access must be authorized by the licensee through MyProfile in order for the third party to manage the licensing submissions and changes on behalf of the licensee.
  • Related Florida Statutes:  626.381, 626.841(2), 626.8412, 626.8418, 626.8419(1)(a), 626.8419(1)(b), 626.8419(1)( c).
  • Reciprocity: Reciprocity list for non-resident title agents and agencies