RESIDENT TITLE INSURANCE AGENT
TYPE AND CLASS:
4-10 Resident Title Insurance Agent
Common Use(s) of License:
Florida Statutes 626.841 (1) defines a “TITLE INSURANCE AGENT” as
a person, appointed in writing by a title insurer for the purpose of
issuing and countersigning binders, commitments, policies of title
insurance, or guarantees of title in its behalf.
STEPS TO OBTAIN 4-10 RESIDENT TITLE INSURANCE AGENT:
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click here for more
- Not hold a resident license in another state.
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Note: If you have taken a prelicensing course, your prelicensing
education provider will automatically send the Bureau proof within 21 days of
your passing date.
Email proof of prerequisite to: AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Examination:
Disregard this step if you passed the Title Agent exam within one year prior to applying for the license.
- Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your
messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your
notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination.
Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam
Applicants are required to take an examination and will not be qualified for a license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.
Step 7 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and click the “Wallet” and/or “Letter” hyperlink(s), under the “Print
Licenses” section, to generate a copy of your license for printing.
- Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license per s. 626.8417(4), Florida Statutes.
Note: This does not exempt attorneys from the state examination if they apply for a title agent license.
- Appointment required. - A title insurance agent may not sell a title insurance policy issued by an insurer for which the agent does not hold a current appointment.
- Title insurance agents must complete the continuing education requirements of s. 626.2815 bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.