**This license will no longer be available after January 1, 2018 and will be replaced by another license type.**
TYPE AND CLASS:
31-20 Public Adjuster
Common Use(s) of License:
A person who is not a licensed public
adjuster, who is employed by or has a contract with a licensed and appointed
public adjuster in good standing with the department or a public adjusting firm
that employs at least one licensed and appointed public adjuster in good
standing with the department to assist a public adjuster in conducting business
under the license.
Related Florida Statutes:
626.8541 & 626.8651
STEPS TO OBTAIN RESIDENT 31-20 PUBLIC ADJUSTER APPRENTICE LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of Florida or maintain a principle places of business in Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click
here for more information]
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Provide the name and license number of the supervising 3-20 All Lines Public
Adjuster when applying. The supervising 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster shall be
responsible and accountable for the acts of the 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice
which are related to transacting business as a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice.
The supervising 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster must hold an appointment.
- File an original fifty thousand dollar ($50,000) bond, using a bond form provided by
the Department. [Click
here for the Bond Form]
- Awarded ONE of the following Department approved
- Accredited Claims Adjuster (ACA) from Accredited Postsecondary Institution in this State
- Certified Adjuster (CA) from All Lines Training
- Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA) from AE21 Incorporated
- Pass the 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster examination. [State Examination
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Department of Financial
Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
200 East Gaines
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
Step 7 - Examination:
- Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your
messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your
notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination.
Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam Information page]
Step 8 - Print license:
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.
Note: If you are required to take an
examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has
received a passing result from the testing vendor.
- Upon licensure a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice must be appointed by a
licensed 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster or a public adjusting firm that employs
a licensed 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster.
- A 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice can only have one appointment.
- To qualify for licensure as a 3-20 All Lines, a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice must
complete at a minimum 100 hours of employment per month for 12 months of
employment under the supervision of a licensed and appointed 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster. The Employment
Report Form will be required to verify this employment requirement.
here for the Employment Report Form]
- A 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice license is effective for 18 months unless
the license expires due to lack of maintaining an appointment; is surrendered by
the licensee; is terminated, suspended, or revoked by the department; or is
canceled by the department upon issuance of a 3-20 Public Adjuster license. The
department may not issue a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice license to any
individual who has held such a license in this state within 2 years after
expiration, surrender, termination, revocation, or cancellation of the license.
- Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state,
and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a
license per Florida Statutes 626.860. Note: This does not exempt
attorneys from the state examination if an adjuster license is applied
- Can not hold more than one adjuster license at a time.