INSURANCE AGENCY LICENSE
TYPE AND CLASS:
21-05 Insurance Agency License
Related Florida Statutes:
Subsection 626.015(8), Florida Statutes, defines an
"INSURANCE AGENCY" as a business location which
an individual, firm, partnership, corporation,
association, or other entity engages in any
activity or employs individuals to engage in any
activity which by law may be performed only by a
licensed insurance agent.
Subsection 626.112(7)(a), Florida Statutes,
states that no individual, firm,
partnership, corporation, association, or any
other entity shall act in its own name or under
a trade name directly or indirectly, as an
insurance agency, unless it complies with s.
626.172, F.S., with respect to possessing an insurance
agency license for each place of business at
which it engages in any activity which may be
performed only by a licensed insurance agent.
Subsection 626.112(7)(b), Florida Statutes, states that a branch place of business that is established by a licensed agency is considered a branch agency and is not required to be licensed so long as it transacts business under the same name and federal tax identification number as the licensed agency and has designated with the department a licensed agent in charge of the branch location as required by s. 626.0428 and the address and telephone number of the branch location have been submitted to the department for inclusion in the licensing record of the licensed agency within 30 days after insurance transactions begin at the branch location.
- Create an Agency MyProfile account and complete the online application for an
[Apply for license]
- The sole proprietor, partner, owner,
president, vice president, treasurer,
secretary, directors and any other person
who directs or participates in the
management or control of an incorporated
agency whose shares are not traded on a
securities exchange are required to be
fingerprinted. [Click here and follow the instructions] Individuals who are
currently licensed and appointed as insurance agents in Florida
are not required to be fingerprinted.
- If there are two or more lines of insurance being transacted out of the agency,
an agent-in-charge must be licensed for at least two lines of business being
- Must have an agent-in-charge licensed and appointed
in at least one of the following lines of
- General Lines (2-20 or 9-20)
- Health and Life including Variable Annuity (2-15 or 8-15)
- Health and Life (2-18 or 8-18)
- Health (2-40 or 8-40)
- Life including Variable Annuity (2-14 or 8-14)
- Life (2-16 or 8-16)
- Personal Lines (20-44 or 90-44)
- Sole Proprietors: An insurance agency that is owned and operated by a single licensed agent conducting business in his or her individual name and not employing or otherwise using the services of or appointing other licensees is exempt from the agency licensing requirements.
- Application Signatures: The owner or owners of the agency are required to sign the application for an insurance
agency license. If the agency is incorporated, the president and secretary of
the corporation are required to sign the application.
- Expiration of License: Agency licenses are perpetual as long as there is an agent-in-charge effectively
designated. An agency license will expire after 90 days without an
- Foreign Agencies: Agencies located in Puerto Rico are eligible to receive this license.
- Branch Locations: Any branch location(s) transacting insurance under the same name and FEIN of a licensed insurance agency must be listed as a branch location under the licensed agency (also known as the parent location/office). Branch locations are maintained by the licensed agency, are held to the same standards as a licensed agency, and must have an agent-in-charge at all times. The parent location will be able to add and maintain branch locations in MyProfile once the agency license has been approved.
- Foreign Insurance Agencies click here for reciprocity information.