Resident Variable Contracts Agent License
TYPE AND CLASS:
2-19 Resident Variable Contracts Agent License
Common Use(s) of License:
A life agent is an individual representing an insurer as to life insurance and annuity contracts, including agents appointed to transact life insurance, fixed-dollar annuity contracts, or variable contracts by the same insurer. Life insurance is insurance of human lives. Life insurance is a loss against loss due to the death of a particular person upon whose death the insurance company agrees to pay a stated sum or income to the beneficiary. The transaction of life insurance includes also the granting of annuity contracts, including, but not limited to, fixed or variable annuity contracts; the granting of endowment benefits, additional benefits in event of death or dismemberment by accident or accidental means, additional benefits in event of the insured’s disability; and optional modes of settlement of proceeds of life insurance.
STEPS TO OBTAIN 2-19 RESIDENT VARIABLE CONTRACTS AGENT LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must:
- Be a natural person at least 18 years of age.
- Be a bona fide resident of the state of Florida.
- Be a United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click here for more information]
- Not be an employee of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or state service office, as referred to in Section 626.833, Florida Statutes.
- Not hold a resident license in another state.
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- The prerequisite for this license is to currently hold the Life Agent or Life and Health Agent license. No individual is allowed to take the examination unless so currently licensed.
- A letter of clearance indicating the licensee held a life including variable annuity license for at least one (1) year in his/her home state and applying for a license within 90 days of becoming a resident of the State of Florida;
- An original letter from the American College of Life Underwriters certifying the licensee was awarded the Chartered Life Underwriters (CLU) designation and has been engaged in business the last 4 years.
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to Department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Email proof of prerequisite to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under the pending license type.
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and click the “Wallet” and/or “Letter” hyperlink(s), under the “Print Licenses” section, to generate a copy of your license for printing.
- Note: If you are required to take an examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.
- Not be a funeral director or direct disposer, or an employee or
representative thereof, or have an office in or in connection with a
funeral establishment. A funeral establishment may contract with a
life insurance agent to sell a pre-need contract as defined in
Chapter 497. Individuals who are funeral directors, direct disposers
or employees of a funeral establishment which holds a certificate of
authority pursuant to Florida Statutes 497.405 may be licensed as
life insurance agents to sell only policies of life insurance
covering the expense of a prearrangement for funeral services or
merchandise so as to provide funds at the time the services and
merchandise are needed. The face amount of insurance covered by any
such policy shall not exceed $7, 500.
- Applicant cannot be licensed for Credit Life and Disability,
Motor Vehicle Physical Damage and Mechanical Breakdown or Credit
- Continuing Education (CE) Requirement: 24 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 626.2815, Florida Statutes. Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education page.
- Appointment of License: This license requires an appointment to be valid. Section 626.112(4), Florida Statutes.
- Expiration of License: This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months. Section 626.431(3), Florida Statutes.
- Third party access must be authorized by the licensee through MyProfile in order for the third party to manage the licensing submissions and changes on behalf of the licensee.
- Related Florida Statutes: 626.015(10); 624.602