Volume 6, No. 8 - August 2017

Education Central

- Things to know about your continuing education

Long Term Care Education

Most insurance agent education requirements are mandated by state laws. However, the education
requirement for Long Term Care (LTC) insurance is a Federal mandate and compliance with that mandate is not
regulated by the Florida Department of Financial Services. The Federal mandate places the responsibility on the insurer to make sure agents are in compliance. Because the LTC education requirement is passed down to the insurer, the enforcement of the regulation is monitored by the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation.

An outline of the LTC “producer training requirements” can be found in section 9 of the NAIC’s Long Term Care
Insurance Model Act, which was last updated in the 1st Quarter of 2017.

The Federal LTC mandate requires a onetime 8-hour LTC training followed by a 4- hour LTC refresher every 2 years. Florida’s newly established insurance CE requirements have made it easier for insurance agents taking courses to satisfy multiple requirements. The timeframe has been reduced from three years to two years for repeating the same course. There should no longer be any concern for insurance agents wishing to have course credits satisfy their Florida CE requirement as well as the Federal LTC requirement.

Note: This article originally appeared in Provider Insights, Summer Edition 2017.

Are You Compliant with Your CE or Not? ?

To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. Below are a few suggestions for remaining CE compliant:

  • CE requirements change. You should regularly review your CE status through your MyProfile account. Your total hours have specific allocation requirements that must be met. Be sure to take all the right categories of CE courses.
  • Check for late hours. Hours taken after your due date will still post on your compliance evaluation screen, but they will be noted as "Late". Though your hours requirement may have been met, late completion of your continuing education requirement will result in penalties.
  • Check prior evaluation periods. Always check previous compliance periods to make sure you are not delinquent for a prior period. Be sure to click on VIEW ENFORCEMENT NOTICE just below the Not Compliant text to check for any outstanding fines.
  • Check your transcript. The same course cannot be taken with the same provider within a two-year period and receive credit. This is noted on your transcript as a duplicate course. You will need to take a different course to meet your CE requirement.

We wish you success in completing your hours to remain knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market. And remember, your CE compliance date is your DUE date, not your DO date.

Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your MyProfile account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status. You will also be able to find more approved CE courses after logging in to your MyProfile account versus the public search option, which limits the results to the first 100 course offerings.