TYPE AND CLASS:
T2-35 Temporary Resident Limited Surety Agent (Bail Bond Agent)
Common Use(s) of License:
While accompanied by a supervising bail bond agent or an agent from the same agency: Presenting defendants in court; apprehending, arresting, and surrendering defendants to the proper authorities; and keeping defendants under necessary surveillance.
Related Florida Statutes:
STEPS TO OBTAIN TEMPORARY RESIDENT LIMITED SURETY AGENT (BAIL BOND AGENT) LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click here for more
- Employed at the time of licensure and at all times
throughout the temporary license by only one licensed and appointed supervising
bail bond agent.
- A person of high character and approved integrity and has never been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony, a crime involving moral turpitude, or a crime punishable by imprisonment of 1 year or more under
the law of any state, territory or country whether or not a judgment or
conviction is entered.
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Successfully completed 120-hours of an approved basic certification course in
the criminal justice system, making a grade of not less than 80 percent approved
by the department (Must be completed within the
last four years) Click here to find a course
- Successfully completed a correspondence course approved by the department.
This course is offered by the University of Florida (352) 392-1711 at http://pd.dce.ufl.edu/bail-bond-agent-qualify.aspx. (Must be completed within the last four (4) years)
- You and your supervising bail bond agent must each file an affidavit under
oath, on form
DFS-H2-1509, verifying your required employment before
issuance of the license
- Submit at least three (3) notarized
statements to the department by reputable citizens who are residents of the same
counties in which you proposes to engage as a temporary licensee
- Submit a recent credential-sized, full face photograph
- Submit the bail
bond appointment form (DFS-H2-1544) along with the $90 fee for appointing
a T2-35. This does not have to be paid by the applicant
- If licensed in another state within four (4) years, provide a Letter of Clearance.
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Note: If you have taken a prelicensing course, your
prelicensing education provider will automatically send the Bureau proof within
20 days of your passing date.
Department of Financial
Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
200 East Gaines
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
Step 7 - License Card:
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You will be required to contact PearsonVue and schedule a time to take your license photo.
Once you have taken the photo, you will receive your photo license ID card via 2nd day mail; this is due to specific legal requirements.
- Applicant cannot be any of the following:
- Jailer or persons employed in any jail.
- Police officers or employees of any police department or law enforcement
- Committing magistrates, employees of a court, or employees of the Clerk of
- Sheriffs and deputy sheriffs or employees of any sheriff's department.
- Person having the power to arrest or person who have authority over or
control of federal, state, county, or municipal prisoners.
- No convicted felon may hold a bail bond license.
- The temporary license is valid
for 18 months.
- Applicant may apply for the permanent
license after completing 12 months of employment with at least 1,540 hours, pursuant to s. 648.355, F.S., and further clarified in Rule 69B-221.051, F.A.C.
- The department shall not issue another
temporary license to any individual who has
held such a temporary in this state within
two (2) years after expiration of such
temporary license. Failure to apply for the permanent license prior to the expiration of the temporary license will result in a two-year waiting period before one may reapply as a first time applicant for the temporary license.