Beginning January 1, 2015, there will be changes to what employers are required to report to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). OSHA has requested the assistance of the Division of Workers’ Compensation in disseminating this information to Florida employers.
OSHA UPDATE: NEW REPORTING REQUIREMENTS START JANUARY 1.
Employers will now be required to report all work-related fatalities within 8 hours and all in-patient hospitalizations, amputations, and losses of an eye within 24 hours of finding out about the incident.
Previously, employers were required to report all workplace fatalities and when three or more workers were hospitalized in the same incident.
The updated reporting requirements are not simply paperwork but have a life-saving purpose: they will enable employers and workers to prevent future injuries by identifying and eliminating the most serious workplace hazards.
Employers have three options for reporting these severe incidents to OSHA. They can call their nearest area office during normal business hours, call the 24-hour OSHA hotline at 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742), or they can report online at www.osha.gov/report_online. For more information and resources, including a new YouTube video, visit OSHA’s webpage on the updated reporting requirements.
*Employers under Federal OSHA’s jurisdiction must begin reporting by January 1. Establishments in a state with a State run OSHA program should contact their state plan for the implementation date.
The Florida Legislature passed and the Governor signed into law CS/HB 941, which amended Sections 440.02(9) and 440.05, Florida Statutes. These amendments will streamline the filing and processing of exemption applications. Highlights of CS/HB 941 include:
Additionally, the legislative changes provide that all
Certificates of Elections to be Exempt issued on or after
January 1, 2013, are valid for 2 years after the effective date
and, beginning July 1, 2013, non-construction limited liability
members will be treated as corporate officers, and will be
eligible to apply for an exemption.
On July 1, 2012, a new DWC Notice of Election to be Exempt web-based system will be available for applicants to electronically apply for or renew their Certificate of Election to be Exempt. This system will be convenient and easy to use.
To access the DWC Notice of Election to be Exempt system, applicants will go to the Division of Workers' Compensation's website at www.myfloridacfo.com/wc and select the "Apply for an Exemption" icon.
The least costly accident is the one that never occurs.
The USF SafetyFlorida consultants are highly skilled and
trained in OSHA regulations, yet cannot assess financial
penalties. They can assist your small business with hazard
identification, record keeping, education and training, and
more. The courses may include:
• Accident and hazard prevention information
• Safety videos
• Safety management wizards that complete DWC-1 and OSHA 300 forms
• Safety and health training and education, including USF OSHA Training Institute Education Center information
To request your consultation, call 1-866-273-1105 or visit www.safetyflorida.usf.edu.