jump to main menu jump to subject menu jump to content jump to footer
go image

Division Director

Greg Thomas


Insurance Agent and Agency Services
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0318
Bureau of Licensing
(850) 413-3137
Bureau of Investigation
(850) 413-3136

RESIDENT PERSONAL LINES LICENSE

TYPE AND CLASS:
20-44 Personal Lines


Common Use(s) of License:

A general lines agent who is limited to transacting business related to property and casualty insurance sold to individuals and families for noncommercial purposes.

Related Florida Statutes:

626.015, 626.732


STEPS TO OBTAIN RESIDENT 20-44 PERSONAL LINES LICENSE:

Step 1 - You must be:

  • A natural person at least 18 years of age.
  • A resident of the state of Florida.
  • A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click here for more information]

Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:

  • Successfully completed an insurance course of a minimum of 60 hours approved by the Department covering property and casualty insurance sold to individuals and families for noncommercial purposes. [Click here to find a course] [Requires State Examination]
    OR
  • Successfully completed an insurance course of a minimum of 52 hours approved by the Department covering property and casualty insurance sold to individuals and families for noncommercial purposes. [Click here to find a course] [Requires State Examination]
    NOTE: This course is no longer offered as of July 1, 2015 but will be accepted until July 1, 2019
    OR
  • Completed at least six months within the last four (4) years of responsible insurance duties as a licensed and appointed Customer Representative (4-40), Limited Customer Representative (4-42), or Customer Service Representative (0-55) in property and casualty insurance sold to individuals and families for noncommercial purposes. .[Click here to find the Qualification and Verification Form][Requires State Examination]
    OR
  • Successfully completed at least 9 semester hours of college credit in property and casualty insurance from an accredited college or university [an official transcript required]. [Exempt from State Examination]
    OR
  • Become a resident of Florida, held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority for at least one (1) continuous year prior to applying for a license in Florida, and submit the application for the Florida property and casualty license within 90 days of becoming a resident of Florida. [Transfer of License]. [Exempt from State Examination]
    OR
  • Have an original letter from the American Institute for Property and Liability Underwriters certifying you hold the Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriters (CPCU) designation. [Exempt from State Examination]

Step 3 - Apply:

Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:

  • Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
    Note: If you have taken a prelicensing course, your prelicensing education provider will automatically send the Bureau proof within 20 days of your passing date. This does not include designations.

    Mail to:
    Department of Financial Services
    Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
    200 East Gaines Street
    Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319

Step 5 - Fingerprints:

Step 6 - Status notification(s):

  • Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under the pending license type.

Step 7 - Examination:

Disregard this step if you are not required to take an exam.

  • Upon approval, an e-mail will be sent to you directing you to check your messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may print your notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination. Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
    [Click here for the Exam Information page]

Step 8 - Print license:

  • Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.

    Note: If you are required to take an examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.

Special Note:

    This license can not be held with the following licenses:
  • 0-55 SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE
  • 0-60 MANAGING GENERAL AGENT
  • 0-93 LIFE LICENSE FOR U.S. FOREIGN/MILITARY
  • 2-21 MOTOR VEH PD & MECH BREAKDOWN
  • 2-29 CREDIT
  • 2-33 INDUSTRIAL FIRE OR BURGLARY
  • 4-42 LIMITED CUST REPRESENTATIVE
  • T02-20 GENERAL LINES (PROP & CAS)
  • T02-33 INDUSTRIAL FIRE OR BURGLARY