RESIDENT PROFESSIONAL BAIL BOND AGENT
TYPE AND CLASS:
2-37 Professional Bail Bond
Florida Statutes 648.25 defines a “Professional Bail Bond Agent”
as any person who pledges United States currency, United States
postal money orders or cashier’s check as security for a bail bond
in connection with a judicial proceeding and receives or is promised
therefore money or things of value.
Continuing Education (CE) Requirement:
14 hours due bi-annually by end of licensee's birth month. When the CE
requirement has been generated, the requirement can be viewed in licensee's MyProfile account. Section 648.385, Florida Statutes.
Note: Additional information can be found on our Continuing Education
Appointment of License:
This license requires an appointment to be valid.
Expiration of License:
This license will expire if unappointed for 48 months.
- Complete an online application for License and submit
Apply for license
- Applicant must have obtained a Temporary
license for Limited Surety Agent or Professional Bail Bond Agent and have
worked under that license completing 12 months of employment with at least 1,540
hours, prior to applying for this permanent license pursuant to s. 648.355,
F.S., and further clarified in Rule 69B-221.051, F.A.C. All appropriate forms
for Temporary Limited Surety Agent or Professional Bail Bond Agent must have
been completed correctly and filed with the Department each month.
- Be a natural person at least 18 years of age and hold a high
school diploma or its equivalent.
- Be a resident of the state of Florida.
- Be a United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a
work authorization from the United States Immigration and
- You must be fingerprinted. [Click here and follow the instructions]
- Must submit a recent credential-sized, full-face photograph.
- Be a person of high character and approved integrity and has
never been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a
felony, a crime involving moral turpitude, or a crime punishable
by imprisonment of 1 year or more under the law of any state,
territory or country whether or not a judgment or conviction is
- Must have a place of business located in this state and in
the county where the applicant will maintain his or her records
and be actively engaged in the bail bond business and maintain
an agency accessible to the public which is open for reasonable
- Be vouched for and recommended upon statements filed with
the Department by at least (3) reputable citizens who are
residents of the same counties in which the applicant proposes
to engage in the bail bond business. This is sent in with the
temporary license application; however, if the person has
changed counties, they must furnish new statements on Form DFS-H2-1500
- Must file with his or her application for licensure and with
each application for renewal or continuation of his or her
- Must file the rating plan proposed for use in writing bail
bond and a detailed, sworn financial statement, using forms
approved by the Department. The department prior to issuance of
the license must approve such rating plan and financial
[Form for rate filing,
Form for financial statement].
- The applicant must pass the required examination.
- A person who fails an examination three times must retake the 120-hour course and obtain a grade of 80 percent or higher before sitting for the examination again. [Section 648.381, Florida Statutes]
- Applicant cannot be any of the following:
- Jailer or persons employed in any jail.
- Police officers or employees of any police department or law
- Committing magistrates, employees of a court, or employees
of the Clerk of Court.
- Sheriffs and deputy sheriffs or employees of any sheriffs
- Person having the power to arrest or person who have
authority over or control of federal, state, county, or