jump to main menu jump to subject menu jump to content jump to footer
go image

Division Director

Tanner Holloman

Assistant Director

Andrew Sabolic


Workers' Compensation
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0318
Workers' Compensation Claims
(800) 342-1741
Workers' Compensation Exemption/ Compliance
(850) 413-1609

News and Updates

  • Maximum Workers' Compensation Rate, Effective January 1, 2014
    The Agency for Workforce Innovation has determined the statewide average weekly wage paid by employers subject to the Florida Unemployment Compensation Law to be $827.08 for the four calendar quarters ending June 30, 2013.
    Section 440.12(2), Florida Statutes, expressly provides that, for injuries occurring on or after August 1, 1979, the weekly compensation rate shall be equal to 100 percent of the statewide average weekly wage, adjusted to the nearest dollar, and that the average weekly wage determined by the Agency for Workforce Innovation for the four calendar quarters ending each June 30th shall be used in determining the maximum weekly compensation rate with respect to injuries occurring in the calendar year immediately following.
    Accordingly, the maximum weekly compensation rate for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2014 shall be $827.00. To access the informational bulletin click on the following link: DFS-03-2013
  • The Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Workers' Compensation has adopted Rule 69L-6.012, F.A.C., Notice of Election to Be Exempt effective July 18, 2013. The rule has an effective date of August 7, 2013. The revised rule may be viewed at: https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ruleNo.asp?id=69L-6.012.
    The rule implements applicable sections of HB 941 passed by the 2012 Legislature. HB 941 amended Section 440.05, F.S., revising the requirements for submitting a notice of election of exemption. The rule provides for electronic submission of exemption applications (Form DFS-F2-DWC-250, Notice of Election to be Exempt) through the DWC Notice of Election to be Exempt system, along with streamlined reporting requirements; other related forms are also updated to reflect the revised reporting requirements.
    If you have questions about the contents of this notice, please contact Robin Delaney, Chief, Bureau of Compliance, Division of Workers' Compensation at (850) 413-1775 or Robin.Delaney@myfloridacfo.com.
  • Maximum Workers' Compensation Rate, Effective January 1, 2013
    The Agency for Workforce Innovation has determined the statewide average weekly wage paid by employers subject to the Florida Unemployment Compensation Law to be $815.75 for the four calendar quarters ending June 30, 2012.
    Section 440.12(2), Florida Statutes, expressly provides that, for injuries occurring on or after August 1, 1979, the weekly compensation rate shall be equal to 100 percent of the statewide average weekly wage, adjusted to the nearest dollar, and that the average weekly wage determined by the Agency for Workforce Innovation for the four calendar quarters ending each June 30th shall be used in determining the maximum weekly compensation rate with respect to injuries occurring in the calendar year immediately following.
    Accordingly, the maximum weekly compensation rate for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2013 shall be $816.00. To access the informational bulletin click on the following link: DFS-04-2012
  • The Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Workers' Compensation, announces that Rule 69L-6.019, F.A.C., Policies and Endorsements Covering Employees Engaged in Work in Florida has been adopted effective October 10, 2012. Rule 69L-6.019, F.A.C., allows out-of-state employers with construction projects in Florida with workers' compensation policies listing "Florida" in Item 3.C. of the policy information page, up to two business days from the commencement of an investigation, pursuant to s. 440.107(3), F.S., to endorse the policy to list "Florida" in Item 3.A. and use Florida approved classification codes, rates, and estimated payroll in Item 4. A Stop-Work Order shall be issued to an employer only after the expiration of two business days from the commencement of an investigation on such employer. The rule may be viewed at: https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ruleNo.asp?id=69L-6.019.
    If you have questions about this communication please contact Robin Delaney, Chief, Bureau of Compliance, Division of Workers' Compensation, Department of Financial Services, 200 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-4232, (850) 413-1775 or Robin.Delaney@myfloridacfo.com.