jump to main menu jump to subject menu jump to content jump to footer
go image
design placeholder only

Division of State Fire Marshal

Bureau of Fire Prevention

LICENSING INFORMATION AND FORMS

 

License Descriptions 

All companies and individuals engaged in business in this state as Sellers of Sparklers; Fire Equipment Dealers; Fire Protection System Contractors; Explosives Manufacturers, Dealers and Users; and Construction Materials Mines are licensed through the Regulatory Licensing Section.

Application criteria for: 

Fire Equipment Dealers is located in Section 633.304, Florida Statutes. Fire Protection System Contractors is located inSection 633.318, Florida Statutes.  Chapter 552, Florida Statutes, governs explosive Manufacturers, Dealers and Users and Construction Materials Mines. Chapter 791 governs the sale of sparklers.  

The provisions of the Florida Administrative Code govern each industry as follows:

l            Chapter 69A-21, Fire Equipment Dealers
l            Chapter 69A-46, Fire Protection System Contractors
l            Chapter 69A-2,   Explosives and Construction Mining

Chapter 69A-50, Sparklers

 

Online Continuing Education Approval and Tracking

            Portable Extinguisher and Pre-engineered System Dealers and Permittees and Fire Protection System Contractors have access to the continuing education system to search for available training courses, inquire about their continuing education status, and check on their continuing education certificate renewal requirements. To go to the Online Sign-in Page, follow this link:  Online Continuing Education Tracking.

 

    FIRE EQUIPMENT DEALERS

Fire Equipment Dealers may be licensed in one or more of the following classes.  A complete description of the scope of work for each class may be found in Section 633.304, Florida Statutes:

l         Class A (0701)
l         Class B (0702)
l         Class C (0703)
l         Class D (0704) 

 

Applicants for licensing as a Fire Equipment Dealer or as a Fire Equipment Technician shall complete and submit an application form, providing all required supporting documentation ( Section 633.304, Florida Statutes):

l         Fire Equipment Dealer Application:   Form DFS-K3-32
l         Fire Equipment Permit Application:   Form DFS-K3-31 

REQUIREMENTS FOR FIRE EQUIPMENT LICENSURE:

Must be 18 years of age. 

Must have 4 years proven experience as a Fire Equipment Permittee as follows:

            Class A:            Requires 4 years experience as a Class 1 permittee.

            Class B:            Requires 4 years experience as a Class 1 or 2 permittee.

            Class C:            Requires 4 years experience as a Class 1, 2 or 3 permittee.

            Class D:            Requires 4 years experience as a Class 4 permittee 

Note: Experience as a permittee, as described above, can be combined with equivalent education to meet the 4-year experience prerequisite. 

Must not have been convicted of or pled nolo contendere to any felony. If so convicted, proof of restoration of civil rights must be submitted with the application.

Application must be accompanied by evidence of registration as a Florida Corporation or evidence of compliance with the Fictitious Name Act.

Applicant must provide evidence of insurance coverage meeting the requirements of Section 633.304, Florida Statutes. Proof of coverage may be submitted on an Acord form.

Examination and training requirements of Section 633.304, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-21 must be met by the applicant. Training information is located on the Florida State Fire College Course Schedule web page.

Applicant must possess a specific place of business.  The State Fire Marshal will inspect this place of business prior to a license being issued to determine compliance with the equipment requirements of Section 69A-21.104, Florida Administrative Code.

l           Any Fire Equipment Dealer who does not want to engage in the business of servicing, inspecting, recharging, repairing, hydrotesting or installing Halon equipment must file an affidavit on a form provided by the division in compliance with Section 633.304, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-21.102(11), on Form DFS-K3-1482.

l           Any Fire Equipment Permittee employed by a dealer holding a Halon Exemption, must file an affidavit as required by Section 633.304(1)(e), Florida Statutes, on Form DFS-K3-1483.

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR FIRE EQUIPMENT LICENSEES:

Each fire equipment dealer and permittee must complete a course or courses of continuing education every two years as prescribed in Section 633.304, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-21. List of approved Fire Equipment Continuing Education Coursework.

 

Fire Equipment Dealers and Permittees must submit evidence of completion of continuing education each two years in compliance with Section 633.304, Florida Statutes and Florida Administrative Code 69A-21.113.  Fire Equipment Continuing Education Submittal Form – Form DFS-K3-393

 

FIRE PROTECTION SYSTEM CONTRACTORS

Fire Protection System Contractors may be licensed in one of the below listed classes.  A complete description of the scope of work for each license class may be found in Section 633.102, Florida Statutes:

l         Contractor I     (0710 or 0715)
l         Contractor II    (0712 or 0716)
l         Contractor III   (0713 or 0717)
l         Contractor IV  (0714 or 0718)
l         Contractor V   (0914 or 0915)
 

Applicants for licensing as a Fire Protection Contractor shall complete and submit an application form, providing all required supporting documentation ( Section 633.318, Florida Statutes): 

l         Fire Protection System Contractor Application:  Form DFS-K3-23

Applicants for permitting as a Water-Based Inspector shall complete and submit an application form; two color, passport-size photos; and evidence of NICET or alternative certification as required by Section 633.318(8), Florida Statutes.

Water-Based Inspector Permit Application: Form DFS-K3-1794

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS A FIRE PROTECTION SYSTEM CONTRACTOR:

l           Must be 18 years of age.

l           Applicant must provide evidence of experience as follows:

            Contractor I, II, III:   4 years of verifiable experience in the full time employment of a Fire Protection System Contractor I, II or III. 

Contractor IV:  Must provide evidence of licensing as a Certified Plumbing Contractor and successful completion of a training program acceptable to the State Fire Marshal of not less than 40 contact hours regarding the applicable installation standards as described in NFPA 13D.

Contractor V:  Must provide evidence of licensing as a Certified Underground Utility and Excavation Contractor licensed pursuant to Chapter 489, Florida Statutes, or provide 4 years of verifiable experience in the full time employment of a Certified Underground Utility and Excavation Contractor.

Note: Applicants may combine equivalent education and experience as Prescribed in Section 633.318, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-46.010.

In lieu of submitting verification of employment, a Contractor I, II or III applicant may submit a copy of a current NICET Level III or IV certification as a Fire Protection Engineering Technician in the appropriate subfield as prescribed in Section 69A-46.010, Florida Administrative Code.

l           Application must be accompanied by evidence as a Florida Corporation or evidence of compliance with the Fictitious Name Act.

l           Applicant must provide evidence of insurance coverage meeting the requirements of Section 633.318, Florida Statutes. Proof of coverage may be submitted on an Acord form.

l           Examination requirements of Section 633.318, Florida Statutes, must be met by the applicant. Scheduling information may be obtained from the Regulatory Licensing Section at FirePrevention@MyFloridaCFO.com or 200 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0342 or (850) 413-3644.

l           Applicant must be an employee of and legally qualified to act for the business organization in all matters connected with its contracting business and she or he must have the authority to supervise and will supervise any construction undertaken by such business organization.

REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMITTING AS A WATER-BASED INSPECTOR:

Must be employed by a Contractor I or Contractor II certificateholder.

Must provide two color, passport-sized photos of the applicant

Must provide a copy of their state-issued driver's license or identification card

Must provide evidence of either:

  • National Institute of Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET), Subfield of Inspection and Testing of Fire Protection Systems Level II
  • Equivalent training and education as approved by the Division of State Fire Marshal

 

Applicants may obtain a provisional permit for a period of two (2) years if they provide evidence of either:

  • NICET Level I certification, Subfield of Inspection and Testing of Fire Protection Systems
  • Equivalent training and education as approved by the Division of State Fire Marshal

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR FIRE PROTECTION SYSTEM CONTRACTORS AND WATER-BASED INSPECTORS:

 

Each fire protection system contractor must complete a course of courses of continuing education every two years as prescribed in Section 633.332, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-46.

List of approved Fire Protection System Contractor Coursework.

Each water-based inspector permittee must maintain NICET II or equivalent certification and must complete 16 hours of continuing education as prescribed in Section 633.332, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-46.

Fire Protection System Contractors must submit evidence of completion of continuing education each two years in compliance with Section 633.332, Florida Statutes, and Florida Administrative Code 69A-46.017.   Fire Protection System Contractor Continuing Education Submittal Form – Form DFS-K3-1240.

 

EXPLOSIVES LICENSES

 

Explosives Manufacturers, Dealers or Users are licensed in accordance with Chapter 552, Florida Statutes.  A complete description of the scope of work for each license class may be found in Section 552.081, Florida Statutes:

l         Manufacturer-Distributor (0405)
l         Dealer (0605)
l         User (0706) 

 

Applicants for licensing to manufacture and distribute explosives, sell explosives or use explosives shall complete and submit an application form, providing all required supporting documentation (Section 552.092, Florida Statutes):

l            Explosive Manufacturer-Distributor, Dealer or User Application – Form DFS-K3-34
l            Blaster Permit Application – Form DFS-K3-35 

 

REQUIREMENTS FOR EXPLOSIVES LICENSURE:

l           Applicant must be at least 21 years of age.

l           Must not have been convicted of any felony.  If so convicted, proof of restoration of civil rights must be submitted with the application.

l           Must not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent.  If so adjudicated, proof of restoration of civil rights must be submitted with the application.

l           Examination required. Scheduling information may be obtained from the Regulatory Licensing Section at FirePrevention@MyFloridaCFO.com or 200 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0342 or (850) 413-3644.

l           Fingerprint card required. Only fingerprint cards furnished by the Regulatory Licensing Section are acceptable.  An applicant’s fingerprints must be taken by a certified law enforcement officer or by an employee of a law enforcement agency whose duty it is to perform fingerprint services.  Fingerprint cards may be obtained from the Regulatory Licensing Section. The fingerprint processing fee is $64.00. This fee must be paid online at www.identogo.com or you may pay by telephone at (888) 717-5699. Confirmation of the payment of the $64.00 processing fee must be submitted with your application for license and/or permit. The fingerprint card cannot be processed and the mandatory background investigation completed until the fee is paid.

l           Inspection Required. 

Each User of Explosives must maintain records in compliance with Section 552.112, Florida Statutes. Such records must be maintained for a period of 5 years and are subject to inspection by the State Fire Marshal.

            Each Manufacturer-Distributor or Dealer must maintain records of their activities in compliance with Section 552.111, Florida Statutes.  Such records must be maintained for a period of 5 years and are subject to inspection by the State Fire Marshal.

Explosives magazines are subject to an annual inspection by the State Fire Marshal as well.

 

CONSTRUCTION MATERIALS MINING PERMITS

 

Construction materials mines are permitted by the Division of State Fire Marshal. A complete description of the scope of work for this permit can be found in Section 552.30, Florida Statutes.

Applicants for permitting as a Construction materials mine shall complete and submit an application form, providing two copies of all required supporting documentation (Section 552.30, Florida Statutes and Rule 69A-2.024, Florida Administrative Code).

Construction Materials Mine Application: Form DFS-K3-1498

Pursuant to Section 552.38, Florida Statutes and Rule 69A-2.024(14), Florida Administrative Code, applicants are required to submit either a Letter of Credit or Bond in the amount of at least $100,000.00.

                                                       

SPARKLER REGISTRATIONS

Sparkler Manufacturers, Distributors, Wholesalers, Retailers, and Seasonal Retailers are registered in accordance with Chapter 791, Florida Statutes. A complete description of the scope of work for each registration class may be found in Section 791.01, Florida Statutes.

  • Manufacturer of Sparklers (0760)
  • Distributor of Sparklers (0761)
  • Wholesaler of Sparklers (0762)
  • Retailer of Sparklers (0764)
  • Seasonal Retailer of Sparklers (0763)

 

Applicants for registrations to manufacture, distribute, sell at wholesale, sell at retail, or seasonally sell sparklers shall complete and submit an application, providing all requestion information ( Section 791.015, Florida Statutes):

Manufacturer, Distributor, Wholesaler of Sparklers Application - Form DFS-K3-1234

Retailer of Sparklers Application - Form DFS-K3-1534

Seasonal Retailer of Sparklers Application - Form DFS-K3_1233