jump to main menu jump to subject menu jump to content jump to footer
go image

Division Director

Sha'Ron James


Division of Rehabilitation and Liquidation
Alexander Bldg.,
2020 Capital Circle SE, Ste. 310
Tallahassee, FL 32301
1-800-882-3054

Sunshine State Insurance Company

Claims Information

How do I file a new claim or check on an existing claim?

FIGA is processing new covered claims and handling the claims filed with sunshine State prior to liquidation.. In order to file a new claim or check on the status of an existing claim, you should contact FIGA at:

Florida Insurance Guaranty Association
P O Box 14249
Tallahassee, Florida 32317
1-800-988-1450 (toll-free)
Fax 1-850-523-1888
Hours of operation are Monday - Friday from 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 PM Eastern Time

FIGA Website Link: www.figafacts.com (you are leaving the DFS website and opening a new browser window)

FIGA will process loss claims relating to damage to your property which are covered under your homeowners policies Claims are subject to a $100 deductible.

Does FIGA have limits on the covered claims they process and pay?

The processing and payment of pending covered claims will be made by FIGA (subject to the lesser of policy limits or FIGA’s maximum cap). The maximum amount FIGA will cover is $300,000 with special limits applying to (1) damages to structure and contents on homeowners claims and (2) on condominium and homeowners association claims. For damages to structure and contents on homeowners claims the FIGA cap is an additional $200,000. No claim will be paid in excess of this cap. All claims are subject to a $100 deductible over and above any deductible identified in your policy. You may file a claim in the estate of the insurance company for the $100 deductible and for amounts over the cap. The Receiver will send proof of claim forms and instructions for filing a claim. The last day to file a claim with FIGA will be 11:59:59 P.M. on June 3, 2016, or two years after the date of the order.

What is a covered claim?

A covered claim is defined by Section 631.54, Florida Statutes, and means "an unpaid claim, including one of unearned premium, which arises out of, and is within the coverage, and is not in excess of the applicable limits of an insurance policy..."

When is the claim deadline?

Pursuant to the June 3, 2014 court order liquidating Sunshine State, the last day to file a claim with the Receiver will be 11:59:59 P.M. on June 3, 2015, or one year after the date of the order.

How do I file a claim with the Receiver?

The Receiver will be mailing out Proof of Claims form at some later date.