Every insurance agency transacting insurance business in Florida must
be licensed, if it is not already.*
Florida law requires all licensed agencies to renew their license every three years. Florida
law does not require registered agencies to renew their registration or
title agencies to renew their license.
Agency licenses must be renewed online through MyProfile. Click on “Insurance Agency,” and log in using the agency’s FEIN and license number. If your agency is licensed as a sole proprietor, log in using your
social security number and agency license number. Once logged in, select “Renewal” and proceed with the renewal process.
There are no fees to renew an agency license. We will mail a new agency license to
you within approximately three days of receiving the renewal application.
Click here for more information about agency license renewal including a
tutorial showing you how to do this.
You can find more information regarding insurance agency registration and/or licensure via our web site at
*Some agencies were registered during the implementation of the agency licensure law.
Mailing Personal Information
You may want to consider using overnight mail that can be tracked if you are sending us anything
that includes personal information, such as a social security number
and date of birth. For example, some applicants send us their fingerprint cards, which include the agent's social security number and
other personal identifying information. When you overnight your
information, you limit the risk of regular mail "slowdown" and
potential misdelivery of personal information. Additionally, this provides for a quicker turnaround time to process
the information you are sending us as we will receive it sooner. The Bureau of Licensing's physical address for overnight mail is
located on the Contact Us page.
Please fax documentation to us only one time, or if specifically
requested by us to do so. Faxing the same
documentation multiple times slows
down our ability to process it quickly. It may take up to 5 days
to match your faxed documents with your electronic file. We cannot
provide you updated information until your documents are matched with
your electronic file, so calling sooner than 5 days after faxing slows
us down and may not provide you with the best customer service.
Note: You do not need to fax prelicensing or
continuing education course completion certificates to us since the
course provider sends us this data electronically. You can always check your
account to check your application or CE status.