00-56 Mediator of Claims
Florida Statutes 627.7015 and 627.745 defines "MEDIATOR OF
CLAIMS" as in any that filed with an insurer for personal injury in
an amount of $10,000 or less or any claim for property damage in any
amount, arising out of the ownership, operation, use, or maintenance
of a motor vehicle, either party may demand mediation of the claim
prior to the institution of litigation.
The department shall approve mediators and randomly selects
mediators for these cases.
All mediators must file an application under oath to the
department for approval
- Applicant must have successfully completed a 40 hours
training program and successfully passed a final examination
approved by the Florida Department of Financial Services within the last four years.
(Link to approved training programs) (Attach a copy of your
certificate of completion); and
- Possess a Masters or Doctorate degree in psychology,
counseling, business, accounting, or economics (Attach an
official copy of your transcript); or
- Be a member of The Florida Bar (Attach a copy of your
wallet-size license); or
- Be licensed as a Certified Public Accountant (Attach a copy
of your wallet-size license); or
- Have actively engaged as a qualified Mediator for at least
(4) years prior to July 1, 1990, certified family law or circuit
court mediator in Florida with proof of mediation conducted
during the four-year period; or possess similar qualifications
from another state (Provide sufficient documentation to
substantiate your training and experience).