TYPE AND CLASS:
Common Use(s) of License:
An "independent adjuster" means a person licensed as an all-lines adjuster who
is self-appointed or appointed and employed by an independent adjusting firm or
other independent adjuster, and who undertakes on behalf of an insurer to
ascertain and determine the amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under
an insurance contract or undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or
A "company employee adjuster" means a person licensed as an all-lines adjuster
who is appointed and employed on an insurer's staff of adjusters or a wholly
owned subsidiary of the insurer, and who undertakes on behalf of such insurer or
other insurers under common control or ownership to ascertain and determine the
amount of any claim, loss, or damage payable under a contract of insurance, or
undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss, or damage.
Related Florida Statutes:
626.8548, 626.855, 626.856, 626.864, 626.866, 626.8695
STEPS TO OBTAIN RESIDENT ALL-LINES ADJUSTER LICENSE:
Step 1 - You must be:
- A natural person at least 18 years of age.
- A resident of the state of Florida.
- A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization
from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click
here for more information]
Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:
- Currently licensed as an all lines public adjuster. [Exempt from State Examination]
- Awarded one of the following Department approved
Designation Information] [Exempt from State Examination]
- Associate in Claims (AIC) from the Insurance Institute of America
- Accredited Claims Adjuster (ACA) from an Accredited Postsecondary Institution in this State
- Certified Adjuster (CA) from the All Lines Training
- Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA) from the AE21 Incorporated
- Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) from the American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters
- Professional Claims Adjuster (PCA) from the Professional Career Institute
- Professional Property Insurance Adjuster (PPIA) from the HurriClaim Training Academy
- Universal Claims Certification (UCC) from Claims and Litigation Management Alliance (CLM)
- Earned an insurance degree which includes at least 18 semester hours of college credit in property, casualty, health, and commercial insurance from an accredited college or university. [an official transcript required]. [Exempt from State Examination]
- Currently licensed as a General
Lines (Property and Casualty) agent. [Exempt from State Examination]
- Obtain a Letter of Clearance indicating you held an all-lines adjuster license (company or independent) for at least one (1) year immediately preceding applying for a Florida license and apply for a resident all-lines adjuster license within 90 days of becoming a Florida resident.
[Transfer of License] [Exempt from State Examination]
- If you do not hold one of the prerequisites above, you will be required to
take the state examination and may skip "Step 4" below. [Requires State
Step 3 - Apply:
Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:
- Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
Department of Financial
Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
200 East Gaines
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Step 5 - Fingerprints:
Step 6 - Status notification(s):
- Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under
the pending license type.
Step 7 - Examination:
Disregard this step if you are not required to take
- Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your
messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may securely view your
notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination.
Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam Information page]
Step 8 - Print license:
- Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your
approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.
Note: If you are required to take an
examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has
received a passing result from the testing vendor.
- Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state,
and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a
license per Florida Statutes 626.860. Note: This does not exempt
attorneys from the state examination if an adjuster license is applied
- There are (24) hours of continuing education required.
- Can not hold more than one adjuster license at a time.
- An adjuster license can only hold one appointment at a time.