Every insurance agency transacting insurance business in Florida must be licensed, if it is not already.
Florida law requires all licensed agencies to renew their license every three years. The expiration date is noted on the license. Florida law does not require registered agencies to renew their registration or title agencies to renew their license. Insurance agency licenses must be renewed online through MyProfile. Log in using the agency's login account information. Once logged in, select "Renewal" and proceed with the renewal process. There are no fees to renew an agency license. You will be able to print out your new agency license certificate immediately, which you will need to place prominently in the agency location. We e-mail reminders to the e-mail address on file for the agency 90 and 30 days prior to the agency license expiration, which is another important reason to make sure you keep your e-mail address current through MyProfile. Failure to do so can prevent you from receiving important information from us and could lead to an address violation and fine or the expiration of your agency license.
Click here for more information about agency license renewal
Also note that if you change the agency name, the Department must be notified within 30 days after the initial transaction of business under the new name.
When choosing a name for your insurance agency, please note that the department may disapprove the use of any true or fictitious name, other than the bona fide name of an individual, if it violates certain guidelines. The name cannot:
The provisions above do not prohibit you from using the word “state” or “states” in the name of your agency as those terms do not, in and of themselves, imply that the agency is a state agency.
Please see section 626.602, F.S.
You must have a licensed and appointed agent in full-time charge of each location. If the agent in charge at an agency location is changed, you must notify the Department within 30 days. Adding and removing an agent in charge can be done by going to www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents and logging in to the agency's account in MyProfile. After an agency has terminated the AIC, the agency must wait until the following business day to add a new AIC in order for the system to register the change. For complete information on the duties and responsibilities of the AIC, see Section 626.0428, F.S.
If you sell your insurance agency you can arrange for the business name, assets, liabilities, building and equipment to transfer to the new owner as part of the sale, however, neither your license nor appointment is transferable. A license or appointment issued under the Florida Insurance Code is valid only to the person or entity named and is not transferable to another person. Please see section 626.441, F.S.