HOME :
   
 
In The Know
- Keeping you informed is what it's all about
 

Agency License Renewal
Every insurance agency transacting insurance business in Florida must be licensed, if it is not already.*

Florida law requires all licensed agencies to renew their license every three years. Florida law does not require registered agencies to renew their registration or title agencies to renew their license. Agency licenses must be renewed online through MyProfile. Click on “Insurance Agency,” and log in using the agency’s FEIN and license number. If your agency is licensed as a sole proprietor, log in using your social security number and agency license number. Once logged in, select “Renewal” and proceed with the renewal process. There are no fees to renew an agency license. We will mail a new agency license to you within approximately three days of receiving the renewal application.
Click here for more information about agency license renewal including a tutorial showing you how to do this.

You can find more information regarding insurance agency registration and/or licensure via our web site at www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Agents.

*Some agencies were registered during the implementation of the agency licensure law.

Mailing Personal Information
You may want to consider using overnight mail that can be tracked if you are sending us anything that includes personal information, such as a social security number and date of birth. For example, some applicants send us their fingerprint cards, which include the agent's social security number and other personal identifying information. When you overnight your information, you limit the risk of regular mail "slowdown" and potential misdelivery of personal information.  Additionally, this provides for a quicker turnaround time to process the information you are sending us as we will receive it sooner.  The Bureau of Licensing's physical address for overnight mail is located on the Contact Us page.

Faxing Documentation
Please fax documentation to us only one time, or if specifically requested by us to do so. Faxing the same documentation multiple times slows down our ability to process it quickly.  It may take up to 5 days to match your faxed documents with your electronic file.  We cannot provide you updated information until your documents are matched with your electronic file, so calling sooner than 5 days after faxing slows us down and may not provide you with the best customer service.  Note: You do not need to fax prelicensing or continuing education course completion certificates to us since the course provider sends us this data electronically.  You can always check your MyProfile account to check your application or CE status.

 
Did you know that in February 2010...?
  • Florida had 469,727 licensed resident and non-resident agents.
  • The Bureau of Licensing processed 7,818 new applications for licensure.
    99.7% of the applications were processed within 7 working days.
  • The Licensing Helpline received over 17,000 phone calls with an average wait time less than two minutes. The #1 phone call involved checking CE status.  It is much faster to check your CE status by logging in to MyProfile.
  • The Bureau of Investigation completed 316 investigations, with 979 active cases remaining open. Check out the Enforcement Actions page to see the actions taken from previously completed investigations.