Division of Agent and Agency Services
RESIDENT TITLE INSURANCE AGENT
TYPE AND CLASS: 4-10 Title Insurance Agent
Florida Statutes 626.841 (1) defines a “TITLE INSURANCE AGENT” as
a person, appointed in writing by a title insurer for the purpose of
issuing and countersigning binders, commitments, policies of title
insurance, or guarantees of title in its behalf.
Complete an online application for License and submit
Apply for license
Be a natural person at least 18 years of age.
Be a resident of the state of Florida.
Be a United States citizen or legal alien who
possesses a work authorization from the United
States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
Be fingerprinted at one of the Department's fingerprint sites.
locations and additional information
If licensed in another state within three years, provide a
Letter of Clearance.
State Examination Qualifications:
Must be completed
within four years of application date
Successfully completed a 40 hour insurance classroom course in
title insurance approved by the Department
(Find a Course); or
Completed at least one year in responsible title insurance
duties while working for a title agency, title agent, title
insurer or an attorney (Qualification
and Verification Form Link)
Exemptions for State Examination
A letter of clearance indicating the licensee held a title agent
license for at least one (1) year in his/her home state and
must be applying for a license within 90 days after becoming a resident of
the State of Florida.
- Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license per ss. 626.8417(4)(a), Florida Statutes.