jump to home menu jump to vertical menu jump to content jump to footer
Division of Agent and Agency Services
  

RESIDENT PUBLIC ADJUSTER APPRENTICE LICENSE

TYPE AND CLASS:
31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice


Common Use(s) of License:

A person who is not a licensed public adjuster, who is employed by or has a contract with a licensed and appointed public adjuster in good standing with the department or a public adjusting firm that employs at least one licensed and appointed public adjuster in good standing with the department to assist a public adjuster in conducting business under the license.

Related Florida Statutes:

626.8541 & 626.8651


STEPS TO OBTAIN RESIDENT 31-20 PUBLIC ADJUSTER APPRENTICE LICENSE:

Step 1 - You must be:

  • A natural person at least 18 years of age.
  • A resident of the state of Florida.
  • A United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. [Click here for more information]
  •  

Step 2 - Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying:

  • Provide the name and license number of the supervising 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster when applying. The supervising 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster shall be responsible and accountable for the acts of the 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice which are related to transacting business as a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice. The supervising 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster must hold an appointment.

  • AND
  • File a fifty thousand dollar ($50,000) bond, using a bond form provided by the Department. [Click here for the Bond Form]

  • AND
  • Completed ONE of the following Florida approved designations:
    • Accredited Claims Adjuster (ACA)
    • Certified Adjuster (CA)
    • Certified Claims Adjuster (CCA)
    [More Designation Information]

  • AND
  • Pass the 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster examination. [State Examination Information]

Step 3 - Apply:

Step 4 - Send prerequisite(s) to department:

  • Send proof of prerequisite, as indicated in Step 2, to the Bureau.
    Note: If you have taken a prelicensing course, your prelicensing education provider will automatically send the Bureau proof within 20 days of your passing date. This does not include designations.

    Mail to:
    Department of Financial Services
    Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
    200 East Gaines Street
    Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319

Step 5 - Fingerprints:

Step 6 - Status notification(s):

  • Once an application has been submitted, you may check your MyProfile account for the status of your application. Deficiencies will be listed under the pending license type.

Step 7 - Examination:

Disregard this step if you are not required to take an exam.

  • Upon approval, an e-mail will be sent to you directing you to check your messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may print your notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination. Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
    [Click here for the Exam Information page]

Step 8 - Print license:

  • Once all the above steps have been satisfied, the department will send your approval by email. You may then go to your MyProfile account and print your license.


  • Note: If you are required to take an examination, you will not be able to print your license until the department has received a passing result from the testing vendor.

Special Note:

  • Upon licensure a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice must be appointed by a licensed 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster or a public adjusting firm that employs a licensed 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster.
  • A 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice can only have one appointment.
  • To qualify for licensure as a 3-20 All Lines, 3-44 Property & Casualty, or 3-21 Motor Vehicle Public Adjuster, a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice shall complete at a minimum 100 hours of employment per month for 12 months of employment under the supervision of a licensed and appointed 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster. The Employment Report Form will be required to verify this employment requirement.
    [Click here for the Employment Report Form]
  • The 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice license is not required to obtain the 3-24 Workers’ Compensation or 3-40 Health Public Adjuster license.
  • A 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice license is effective for 18 months unless the license expires due to lack of maintaining an appointment; is surrendered by the licensee; is terminated, suspended, or revoked by the department; or is canceled by the department upon issuance of a 3-20 Public Adjuster license. The department may not issue a 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice license to any individual who has held such a license in this state within 2 years after expiration, surrender, termination, revocation, or cancellation of the license.
  • Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license per Florida Statutes 626.860. Note: This does not exempt attorneys from the state examination if an adjuster license is applied for.
  • Can not hold more than one adjuster license at a time.
    This license can not be held with the following licenses:
  • 0-93 LIFE (FOREIGN/MILITARY)
  • PUBLIC ADJUSTER (ALL)